PDA

View Full Version : Novo7 tablet for $100 - how would one get this to RSA at a good price?



jxharding
06-12-2011, 08:07 PM
http://www.zdnet.co.uk/blogs/tech-tech-boom-10017860/novo7-tablet-brings-ice-cream-sandwich-on-a-budget-10024952/


The Novo7 tablet is one of the first devices to launch running the Android 4.0 OS, better known as Ice Cream Sandwich, and it comes with a price tag of less than $100.

California-based MIPS technologies and Chinese CPU provider Ingenic Semiconductor jointly announced the release of the $100 (£64) Novo7 on Monday.

"We applaud Ingenic's accomplishment in developing this new high-performance, feature-rich Android 4.0 tablet, and offering it at a price point that makes it widely accessible," Sandeep Vij, chief executive of MIPS, said in a statement. "The openness of Android is enabling a new level of connectedness and interaction between devices and between people across the globe."

phiber
06-12-2011, 08:48 PM
I WANT!! Let me know if you find a reseller shipping to SA... i will post back if i come across one.

mercurial
06-12-2011, 11:53 PM
I saw this on gsmarena.com last night as well - http://blog.gsmarena.com/novo7-is-a-99-android-4-0-ics-tablet-with-a-7-capacitive-screen/#more-23529

lexor
07-12-2011, 07:50 AM
$99 - very well priced imo

Elimentals
07-12-2011, 09:13 AM
At that price, expect it to suck, big time.

Hemps
07-12-2011, 10:25 AM
Watched the youtube video, the guy looks dodgy in my opinion, sub $100 I dont think you'll get anything decent at that price.
ICS might improve on the laggy factor though.

Elimentals
07-12-2011, 10:47 AM
Watched the youtube video, the guy looks dodgy in my opinion, sub $100 I dont think you'll get anything decent at that price.
ICS might improve on the laggy factor though.

Never mind the guy's look. the whole greenscreen effect can be seen in the youtube ad of the device (Notice the hole at 1:020 in the vid)

Also the website(http://www.ainovo.com/) looks dogy. Why does it link to paypal when you click on buy with no formal contact details other than a email address and a Hong Kong based company name.

Every fiber in my being is screaming scam, well either that or it reeks of some real cheap quality where you better off donating the money to charity.

Fiza
07-12-2011, 11:52 AM
might be worth a risk to try and get one. its not that much if it is a scam

jxharding
07-12-2011, 04:26 PM
good points made by all
i'll wait for the reviews of the same sites that are now raging about this cheap tablet's price (and not really about the performance)

OpenTangent
28-12-2011, 01:22 PM
If it seems too good to be true it usually is but Andre Hugo (https://plus.google.com/u/0/103739417460982049536) bought one and it's certainly not a scam. We'll see how it performs but for R1300 it would have to be pretty bad to not be worth it. plus.google.com/u/0/103739417460982049536/posts/WhSYyQQ64dD (https://plus.google.com/u/0/103739417460982049536/posts/WhSYyQQ64dD)

zimbo-sa
30-03-2012, 03:30 PM
www.ainol.co.za - www.ainovo.co.za

Park@82
30-03-2012, 09:27 PM
At that price for a 3G (Edit: I see it says external 3G, I guess you need to use a compatible modem, Included?) + capacitive screen tablet, one can not help to wonder what is wrong with it...

Would like to see how many apps would run on it (I think Elimentals commented a while back on app compatibility and some of these less common CPUs)

Also wonder if it is google certified (google app market pre-installed).

BTW what is the warranty period?

Anyone have a data sheet on this?