PDA

View Full Version : Cell C SMTP Server



zaphod
19-04-2006, 11:35 PM
What SMTP Server should I use for Cell C ?

In the post (http://www.mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthread.php?p=439891#post439891) , Gamer said that the SMTP server to use for Cell C is : smtp.uunet.co.za

I used in the past with success. Now I get the following error:

An error occurred while sending mail. The mail server responded: relaying to <destination e-mail address> prohibited by administrator (failed to find host name from IP address). Please verify that your email address is correct in your Mail preferences and try again.

The destination e-mail address is definitely correct.

Any ideas what to do ?

:confused:

Battery
20-04-2006, 10:48 PM
change smtp to smtp.saix.net?

Wesleyn
24-04-2006, 04:47 PM
Hi there

With regards to your post about the SMTP for Cell C e mail, ive been using
smtp.cellc.co.za and it is working.

Hope it works for you too.

zaphod
24-04-2006, 08:35 PM
Hi there

With regards to your post about the SMTP for Cell C e mail, ive been using
smtp.cellc.co.za and it is working.

Hope it works for you too.

Thanx it does !!!!

the_don46
05-10-2010, 02:26 PM
I have just tried smtp.uunet.co.za and smtp.saix.net and smtp.cellc.co.za

None of these work. I can receive E-Mail using pop3.mweb.co.za (as E-Mail account with MWEB) but my smtp used to be smtp.vodamail.co.za (which doesn't work with my Cell C 3G card either).

the_don46
05-10-2010, 02:29 PM
I found that works for smtp mail.cmobile.co.za

ginggs
05-10-2010, 03:58 PM
I found that works for smtp mail.cmobile.co.za
Please read the sticky (http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthread.php/150581).

kubenc
04-01-2011, 08:48 AM
Yup Thanx.. thats a winner.. mail.cmobile.co.za definately works

Brolloks
19-05-2011, 09:28 PM
Hi,

I know I'm resurrecting an old thread, but the smtp server address (mail.cmobile.co.za) does not work here. I get the following from Thunderbird regardless of the server address I use:

An error occurred sending mail: The mail server sent an incorrect greeting: rblsmtpd: 41.157.82.3 pid 18865: 451 Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?41.157.82.3

My mail is hosted at Axxess on my own domain. Will query with Axxess as well.

Any pointers?

Thanks in advance.

PsyWulf
19-05-2011, 09:45 PM
Completely unrelated issue posted to this thread ^

That said,the IP address is on a blacklist for spam,as per the result page

http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=blcheck&ip=41.157.82.3


41.157.82.3 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)

If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 14 hours.
Causes of listing

System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)

Additional potential problems
(these factors do not directly result in spamcop listing)

Too many delisting requests were made. Next request might be allowed after 27.8 days

Because of the above problems, express-delisting is not available
Listing History
In the past 83.9 days, it has been listed 12 times for a total of 77.6 days

Brolloks
19-05-2011, 10:31 PM
Thanks. I guess I'll wait and see...