View Full Version : deploy.akamaitechnologies.com
noswal
08-07-2006, 02:41 PM
I installed a differnet firewall recently and deploy.akamaitechnologies.com pops up as a continual connection attempt.
From the first few hits from google this one forum says
http://forums.pcworld.co.nz/archive/index.php/t-33444.html
they are legitiamte company providing massive distributed computer infrastructure OR cyberterrorism from a MIT evolved company.
Anyone with local knowledge? for now its staying as a blocked site.
diabolus
08-07-2006, 03:34 PM
Yes, they are legit and basically provides a content delivery service to alot of companies.
One of which [the most common one ] is Microsoft. MS Updates and stuff usually goes through there [especially media related ones]. Other clients of these guys include the likes of Apple, IBM, Microsoft, Yahoo!, Adobe, MCafee... etc . So any of their content can potentially be streamed/delivered via akamai ...
Here's their site and their customers : http://www.akamai.com/en/html/about/customers.html
Akamai customers lead the Internet in delivering engaging content, streaming media, interactivity, and a stimulating user experience. Relying on Akamai to enhance their brand image and keep users coming back for more, Akamai customers range from media properties to financial Web sites to global enterprises.
The_Librarian
08-07-2006, 06:12 PM
M$ is an Akamai customer, AFAIK
kilo39
08-07-2006, 10:36 PM
Akaimai = another one of those amazing internet stories
(those logs say akamai) - not the same company?
aah - name change. akamai = akaimai
noswal
09-07-2006, 09:46 AM
To answer my own question it seems that Generic host process for Win32 Services demands access to them or else you dont get windows updates.
However I can turn on/off and once a week and it can update.
The_Librarian
09-07-2006, 03:07 PM
A pox on WindowsUpdate - their newest WGA buggered up my PC at work, it does all sorts of funny things, and does not shutdown at all... :rolleyes:
noswal
09-07-2006, 04:51 PM
Just to add more... when I open file Search it instantly trys to contact mircosoft at sa.window.com - just no getting away from them!