Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: Anyone having problems with DSTV sound

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    South Africa.
    Posts
    132

    Question Anyone having problems with DSTV sound

    Trying to watch Tennis op SS this afternoon, but very frustrating for me, I can hear the sound before the player hits the ball and the decoder freezes every hour or so, then I have to reset the thing by unplugging it from the mains, it is a MC DSD990 decoder. It has been like that for months, I play the sound through an amplifier but only have this problem on SS and Mnet channels. Your advice please tia

  2. #2
    Super Grandmaster hj2k_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    /\/ŻŻŻŻŻ\/\
    Posts
    27,821
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Same here

    It is often like this though.

  3. #3
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sedgefield
    Posts
    2,188

    Default

    I pull the plug out on the back of my decoder so often to reboot it after it freezes (sound / picture or both) that I've worn the plug out. I had to replace the cord with a new one. Multichoice hardware leaves much to be desired.

  4. #4
    Super Grandmaster hj2k_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    /\/ŻŻŻŻŻ\/\
    Posts
    27,821
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Garden Router View Post
    I pull the plug out on the back of my decoder so often to reboot it after it freezes (sound / picture or both) that I've worn the plug out. I had to replace the cord with a new one. Multichoice hardware leaves much to be desired.
    Same here. And I have swapped out the decoder and smartcard and that has made no difference.

  5. #5

    Default

    Been having the same issue for yonks.

    Missed 45% Saturday Euro champs, all other channels were OK. Conspiracy me thinks. Took Decoder into No Choice, recommender I get new dish??

    Lost Sky news and a hand full of other channels, back to no choice = get new dish. Fiddled with settings and all channels now back???

    We need an competition now

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    South Africa.
    Posts
    132

    Unhappy

    Maybe I should get a PVR, think it will help?
    I think MC is a complete rip off but it is the only way to watch decent sport in this country

  7. #7
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sedgefield
    Posts
    2,188

    Default

    I think it's all the interactive content which streams along with all the channels - the hardware just can't cope with it. Like asking a pentium 1 with 32Mb of ram to run vista. And multichoice spec their hardware to the cheapest minimum so that it just barely scrapes by on it's backside to run the software...

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Garden Router View Post
    I think it's all the interactive content which streams along with all the channels - the hardware just can't cope with it. Like asking a pentium 1 with 32Mb of ram to run vista. And multichoice spec their hardware to the cheapest minimum so that it just barely scrapes by on it's backside to run the software...
    Make sense that, wish we could use a generic hardware set up, would help a lot Just like PC we could spec to our budget

  9. #9
    Grandmaster nauseous_monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    /\/ŻŻŻŻŻ\/\
    Posts
    1,953
    Blog Entries
    8

    Default

    Same here. There is a simpler way to fix though. I just pull Smart Card out and push it back in.
    List of Websites you can Access with Local Cap - locallist.co.za
    Help Us Expand the Local Internet - Learn How

  10. #10
    Super Grandmaster hj2k_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    /\/ŻŻŻŻŻ\/\
    Posts
    27,821
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by koos View Post
    Maybe I should get a PVR, think it will help?
    I think MC is a complete rip off but it is the only way to watch decent sport in this country
    Indeed. I have not heard many complaints from people with PVRs. Wouldn't surprise me if the most expensive piece of kit was the only one tha actually worked either

  11. #11
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sedgefield
    Posts
    2,188

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenryJ View Post
    Indeed. I have not heard many complaints from people with PVRs. Wouldn't surprise me if the most expensive piece of kit was the only one tha actually worked either
    If you can endure the whine from the hard drive in the thing - haven't yet opened up my in-laws' pvr to check what brand the HDD is - must be a cheapie though I reckon.

  12. #12
    Super Grandmaster gregmcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    17,004

    Default

    you can upgrade the HDD if you want. Put in a bigger drive for more recordings. It is a bit noisy though.

  13. #13
    Super Grandmaster hj2k_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    /\/ŻŻŻŻŻ\/\
    Posts
    27,821
    Blog Entries
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Garden Router View Post
    If you can endure the whine from the hard drive in the thing - haven't yet opened up my in-laws' pvr to check what brand the HDD is - must be a cheapie though I reckon.
    Nice

  14. #14
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Durbanville
    Posts
    1,182

    Default

    Sometimes when I change to a channel, it doesn't have sound... I have to push P+ then P- again (quickly change channels) to get the sound back... strange.

  15. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gregmcc View Post
    you can upgrade the HDD if you want. Put in a bigger drive for more recordings. It is a bit noisy though.
    IDE or SATA?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •