Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: E220 Firmware updates

  1. #1

    Default E220 Firmware updates

    Hi,

    My Brother-in-law, has a E220 modem, that was giving him, problems with WIN7, I had my K3570z modem with me, so I swapped him, for the E220, I quite, like the E220 modems ...

    I updated it with the VMCLite_E220_3_2_1_156_standard.zip, as I have on previous occasions with E220 modems that come my way.

    I have just had a look on the Vodacom Download page, and see there is another update for the E220 modem with the name E220Update_11.117.09.04.00.B268.zip.

    Now there are no dates available, for these files, and the names differer more than somewhat ...

    Does any one know what the difference is between these two files?

    Using MDMA the firmware version reported is 11.117.09.04.00 - which is the same as the name in the second file. Problem is these files do not have the same size.

    I am using WIN7 64-bit, and occasionally the E220 modem is not picked up by the OS/Dashboard, but otherwise works fine.
    Good coffee should be, black like the Devil, hot like Hell, and sweet as a Kiss - Hungarian Proverb.

  2. #2
    Super Grandmaster ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Good-w00t! Cape Town
    Posts
    8,947

    Default

    VMCLite_E220_3_2_1_156_standard.zip is a dashboard update.
    E220Update_11.117.09.04.00.B268.zip is a firmware update.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    VMCLite_E220_3_2_1_156_standard.zip is a dashboard update.
    E220Update_11.117.09.04.00.B268.zip is a firmware update.
    Thanks,

    Will try it, and see if that improves anything ... , not that it is serious, but an annoyance, remains an annoyance ...
    Good coffee should be, black like the Devil, hot like Hell, and sweet as a Kiss - Hungarian Proverb.

  4. #4
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    3,226

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by elf_lord_ZC5 View Post
    My Brother-in-law, has a E220 modem, that was giving him, problems with WIN7, I had my K3570z modem with me, so I swapped him, for the E220, I quite, like the E220 modems ...
    Do you stutter?

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Viva View Post
    Do you stutter?
    Does it matter?
    Good coffee should be, black like the Devil, hot like Hell, and sweet as a Kiss - Hungarian Proverb.

  6. #6
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    3,226

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by elf_lord_ZC5 View Post
    Does it matter?
    Of course not. Just pulling your leg!

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Viva View Post
    Of course not. Just pulling your leg!
    Just curious ...

    It also has me scratching my head in Linux ...
    Good coffee should be, black like the Devil, hot like Hell, and sweet as a Kiss - Hungarian Proverb.

  8. #8

    Default E220 - Linux

    Have been playing with the E220 modem on a console only Debian installation.

    All the How-To's etc, that I have read, mention the device having interfaces "ttyUSB0", "ttyUSB1" and "ttyUSB2", on this setup, it only shows 0 and 1, but not 2 ...

    Also all info, indicates, that the modem is on interface ttyUSB0, but I find it is on ttyUSB1.

    Any thoughts please?
    Good coffee should be, black like the Devil, hot like Hell, and sweet as a Kiss - Hungarian Proverb.

  9. #9

    Default

    Hmmm ... , so I am reading the Cell-C router thread, and see this

    Quote Originally Posted by ajax View Post
    I have permanently disabled the CD-ROM on my stick using AT^U2DIAG=0.
    Can be re-enabled using =1.
    That's the command for Huawei devices.

    For ZTE's it is AT+ZCDRUN=8.
    This gets me to thinking ... , so I try AT^U2DIAG=0 on my E220 - and now it works ...

    Interfaces ttyUSB0,1,2 are also now detected ... , and it works as advertised on ttyUSB0 ...
    Good coffee should be, black like the Devil, hot like Hell, and sweet as a Kiss - Hungarian Proverb.

  10. #10
    MyBroadband Covert Slab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Krugersdorp, Gauteng
    Posts
    10,262

    Default

    I'm running Huawei E220 Firmware: 11.313.02.00.01.
    CMD this: If Mr Bean went to the shops and told teddy that he would be back at 6pm, why was teddy surprised to see him home at 5pm?

  11. #11
    Super Grandmaster ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Good-w00t! Cape Town
    Posts
    8,947

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Khanya View Post
    I'm running Huawei E220 Firmware: 11.313.02.00.01.
    Thanks for sharing. 11.313.02.00.01 has buggy USSD (doesn't do menus).

  12. #12
    MyBroadband Covert Slab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Krugersdorp, Gauteng
    Posts
    10,262

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    Thanks for sharing. 11.313.02.00.01 has buggy USSD (doesn't do menus).
    Mine doesn't have USSD?

    Name:  Untitled-1.png
Views: 589
Size:  80.3 KB
    CMD this: If Mr Bean went to the shops and told teddy that he would be back at 6pm, why was teddy surprised to see him home at 5pm?

  13. #13
    Super Grandmaster ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Good-w00t! Cape Town
    Posts
    8,947

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Khanya View Post
    Mine doesn't have USSD?
    Yes, it looks like your version of Mobile Partner that is installed does not have USSD enabled, but that has nothing to do with your firmware version.

    See here how to enable USSD in Mobile Partner:
    http://www.geekzone.co.nz/manhinli/7361
    Last edited by ginggs; 11-12-2012 at 03:26 PM.

  14. #14
    MyBroadband Covert Slab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Krugersdorp, Gauteng
    Posts
    10,262

    Default

    Thanks, will look at it.
    CMD this: If Mr Bean went to the shops and told teddy that he would be back at 6pm, why was teddy surprised to see him home at 5pm?

  15. #15
    MyBroadband Covert Slab's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Krugersdorp, Gauteng
    Posts
    10,262

    Default

    Cool, got it altered, but as you said, USSD has a bug, it just get's stuck there forever.

    Name:  Untitled-1.png
Views: 557
Size:  34.5 KB
    CMD this: If Mr Bean went to the shops and told teddy that he would be back at 6pm, why was teddy surprised to see him home at 5pm?

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •