Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 30

Thread: Upgrading my wall jack

  1. #1
    Grandmaster Inn3rs3lf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    The Rivers That Are Three
    Posts
    1,238

    Default Upgrading my wall jack

    Hey all,

    I was just wondering, is it possible to put in a modular wall jack to replace my 1980's style one I have in at the moment? I am not sure on the wiring with telephone cables into the thing. My RJ11 connector connects into a jack, which in turn connects into another jack that runs up the wall outside. Instead of what you find nowadays of both ends connecting into one piece.

    Not sure if Im making sense here?

  2. #2

    Default

    take a pic of what you currently have but to me it sounds like your line goes into something that looks similar to this (except probably has 2 rj11 inputs on 1 side



    and from there into your POTS filter. then into your router?

  3. #3
    Grandmaster Inn3rs3lf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    The Rivers That Are Three
    Posts
    1,238

    Default

    its very similar, yes. Then another one that has a male connector that connects to that female. will take a photo tonight and post.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Inn3rs3lf View Post
    its very similar, yes. Then another one that has a male connector that connects to that female. will take a photo tonight and post.
    yes a POTS filter:


  5. #5
    Grandmaster Inn3rs3lf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    The Rivers That Are Three
    Posts
    1,238

    Default

    Nope.

    I know what a Pots filter is.

    Mine Comes from before there was internet. It's two rounded connectors similar to your first pic. As a whole the would be slightly oval.......but they are split. One for the telephone and one for the line running outside. The POTS would connect to the telephone line one.

  6. #6

    Default

    Similar to this ?? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Pr...phone_Jack.jpg
    A telephone has just 2 wires and the polarity does not matter so it is simple to change the jack
    If it walks like a duck and kwaks like a duck ..its a duck

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster ichigo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Pietermaritzburg
    Posts
    6,712
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by FNfal View Post
    Similar to this ?? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Pr...phone_Jack.jpg
    A telephone has just 2 wires and the polarity does not matter so it is simple to change the jack
    Use to have those then Telkom replaced them with new boxes for free

  8. #8
    Grandmaster mister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    durban north
    Posts
    2,360

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Merenwenrago View Post
    Use to have those then Telkom replaced them with new boxes for free
    I just broke the old jack and logged a fault with telkom, freebie repair with a new style jack

  9. #9
    Super Grandmaster ichigo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Pietermaritzburg
    Posts
    6,712
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mister View Post
    I just broke the old jack and logged a fault with telkom, freebie repair with a new style jack
    Way we did it was to cut the cable which came through our wall from outside to box and got them to come fix line

    My mom was spring cleaning and cut the wires thinking they were used for nothing lol

  10. #10

    Default

    If you think that you will ever require >10Mbps speeds it might be a good idea to install a faceplate splitter like they do in UK or Australia etc. You might have to import one though if you can't find something locally (try Dealextreme?). I have seen one on Bidorbuy but the phone plug is designed for the UK which might be a problem unless you can make an adapter.
    http://www.bidorbuy.co.za/item/59946...ew_Sealed.html

  11. #11
    King of de Jungle Garyvdh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    District 9
    Posts
    73,490
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yotch View Post
    If you think that you will ever require >10Mbps speeds it might be a good idea to install a faceplate splitter like they do in UK or Australia etc. You might have to import one though if you can't find something locally (try Dealextreme?). I have seen one on Bidorbuy but the phone plug is designed for the UK which might be a problem unless you can make an adapter.
    http://www.bidorbuy.co.za/item/59946...ew_Sealed.html
    What is the supposed benefit of doing that?

  12. #12
    Grandmaster Inn3rs3lf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    The Rivers That Are Three
    Posts
    1,238

    Default

    http://www.google.co.za/search?hl=en...ld.&mvs=0#i=43

    Excuse the massive link.

    This is one half of the plug......the telephone or modem plugs in here then it plugs into the female side which runs to the pole

  13. #13
    King of de Jungle Garyvdh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    District 9
    Posts
    73,490
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Inn3rs3lf View Post
    http://www.google.co.za/search?hl=en...ld.&mvs=0#i=43

    Excuse the massive link.

    This is one half of the plug......the telephone or modem plugs in here then it plugs into the female side which runs to the pole
    Link just takes me to the Google home page.

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Garyvdh View Post
    Link just takes me to the Google home page.
    Jaaa me to
    If it walks like a duck and kwaks like a duck ..its a duck

  15. #15

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •