Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Windows 8 : Downgrade Internet explorer

  1. #1

    Default Windows 8 : Downgrade Internet explorer

    Hi,

    Does anyone know of a possible way to downgrade from ie10 to 9 or 8 in Windows 8? We are now having major issues with our CRM system as ie10 doesn't handle the scrips properly...

    I have done some googling but disabling ie10 doesn't allow for the install of of ie9.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2

    Default

    What you could do is install Windows XP evaluation version and run it in a VM - you install IE8.
    Character is how you treat those that can do nothing for you.

  3. #3

    Default

    I assume Chrome or Firefox are not options ? I doubt they will let you downgrade IE 10.

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    /\/ŻŻŻŻŻ\/\
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ipwn 4 View Post
    Hi,

    Does anyone know of a possible way to downgrade from ie10 to 9 or 8 in Windows 8? We are now having major issues with our CRM system as ie10 doesn't handle the scrips properly...

    I have done some googling but disabling ie10 doesn't allow for the install of of ie9.

    Thanks in advance!
    Try compatibility mode.

  5. #5

    Default

    Thats what you get when you do not follow standards.

    Problem lies with the person that picked the CRM software not the OS or IE10.

  6. #6

    Default

    Compatibility mode is used for the purpose of running websites that only work in old IE versions.
    In IE Press F12 to open dev tools and click on browser mode and then from the drop down change it to IE 9, 8 or 7.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AlphaJohn View Post
    Thats what you get when you do not follow standards.

    Problem lies with the person that picked the CRM software not the OS or IE10.
    Not always, if its really old like some systems I've worked with made back when IE7 was the latest and greatest and works fine with IE 7, 8, 9 and not 10. If its fairly new then it should work with everything but Microsoft loves to make their change and not care about the rest of the world.

    IE's the scum of the earth when it comes to web development and its started to show. More and more sites have the "100% super pimp mode in Chrome and Firefox" using the latest and greatest that CSS has to offer and then IE will look second best with its second rate support.

  8. #8
    Master of Messengers |tera|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Nelspruit
    Posts
    20,572

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by twicode View Post
    Compatibility mode is used for the purpose of running websites that only work in old IE versions.
    In IE Press F12 to open dev tools and click on browser mode and then from the drop down change it to IE 9, 8 or 7.
    You learn something new every day I knew of compatibility mode, but not of the switch to previous versions. Thanks.
    Soli Deo Gloria
    Jesus loves you as you are, not as you should be.

    |GeckoStretchTents|DomainCheap|FixedAssetManagement|

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KinsZA View Post
    Not always, if its really old like some systems I've worked with made back when IE7 was the latest and greatest and works fine with IE 7, 8, 9 and not 10. If its fairly new then it should work with everything but Microsoft loves to make their change and not care about the rest of the world.

    IE's the scum of the earth when it comes to web development and its started to show. More and more sites have the "100% super pimp mode in Chrome and Firefox" using the latest and greatest that CSS has to offer and then IE will look second best with its second rate support.
    See message went totally over your head?

    Standard means it can work with IE, Chrome, Firefox and Opera. You talking backwards compatibility, that is a totally different subject.

    If the CRM app adhered to say W3C it would have worked regardless of what IE version you using, or what Microsoft did.
    Last edited by AlphaJohn; 29-10-2012 at 03:27 PM.

  10. #10

    Default

    On the metro startup page you have IE10, but if you go to your desktop, you should have IE9, at least that is how my version works. I also downloaded and added Chrome.

  11. #11

    Default

    Thanks for the assistance. Compatibility mode and a update from our devs sorted the most of the issues.

    Unfortunately the system is too involved for them to develop for all browsers. So out of the massive list they choose ie8 and slightly upgraded it for 9, now that 10 is availible they seem to be taking their sweet time

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 16-08-2011, 11:35 PM
  2. vodacom 3g internet access and windows explorer
    By darkevil in forum Vodacom Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, HSDPA, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-07-2011, 09:17 PM
  3. How to downgrade from widnows 7 to windows xp? New PC.
    By Kameelperdza in forum Software
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 24-08-2010, 01:10 PM
  4. Windows 7 to ship with Internet Explorer
    By rpm in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 05-08-2009, 07:59 AM
  5. "Tweaking" of Windows XP and Internet Explorer for ADSL usage.
    By Jason Botha in forum ADSL Discussions
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 18-07-2006, 08:23 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •