Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: MACS what to consider

  1. #1
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    (◣_◢)
    Posts
    7,502

    Default MACS what to consider

    moo moo to evryone :P

    What must one consider when buying macs? like the os and all the other software because i need a fast mac desktop for adobe cs2 etc all that proggy's that eats p4 these day's

    are they liable with windows when you save files externally? how universal are they with most of the software requirements do you guy's think it's worth getting a mac desktop

    Meowwwwwwww...
    Quote Originally Posted by dualmeister View Post
    LOL I have the exact same lava lamp

  2. #2
    Master of Messengers |tera|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    terra
    Posts
    20,660

    Default

    I think you need more ritalin
    Soli Deo Gloria
    Jesus loves you as you are, not as you should be.

    |GeckoStretchTents|DomainCheap|FixedAssetManagement|

  3. #3

    Default

    All the mac desktops are fast these days but Adobe hasnt optimized CS for the intel chips so it only runs under rosetta. There is a notice on Adobe's site that says they wont be making it a universal application until CS3 and there's not release date for that yet.

    Apparently CS2 works just fine under rosetta.

    You can also dual boot Windows on a mac if you want to.
    "Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien." FM Arouet
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
    "Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience" Unknown
    Ron White was right

  4. #4
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    (◣_◢)
    Posts
    7,502

    Default

    what is rosetta?
    Quote Originally Posted by dualmeister View Post
    LOL I have the exact same lava lamp

  5. #5
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    2,620

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aspersie View Post
    what is rosetta?
    See http://www.apple.com/rosetta/

    Basically it allows software designed to run on the old PowerPC (IBM made) chips to run on the new Intel chips which they are putting into all their new computers (when you buy one make sure it is an intel one)

  6. #6

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    (◣_◢)
    Posts
    7,502

    Default

    o ja anyway... so in other words i won't be able to run proggy's like adobe cs2 or paintshopo, macromedia flash 8 pro or 3d studio max or maya or or or on the mac?

    correct me if i'm wrong
    Quote Originally Posted by dualmeister View Post
    LOL I have the exact same lava lamp

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aspersie View Post
    o ja anyway... so in other words i won't be able to run proggy's like adobe cs2 or paintshopo, macromedia flash 8 pro or 3d studio max or maya or or or on the mac?

    correct me if i'm wrong
    No - it means you will be able to run those programs on the new macs and when the universals come out they'll run even faster.
    "Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien." FM Arouet
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
    "Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience" Unknown
    Ron White was right

  9. #9
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    (◣_◢)
    Posts
    7,502

    Default

    so that programmes i named are supported by macs?

    with the OS i mean (macs)
    Quote Originally Posted by dualmeister View Post
    LOL I have the exact same lava lamp

  10. #10

    Default

    You should be ok with all of them with OsX.

    When they release the universal versions it just means they should be a lot faster.

    Now that mac has updated all their systems to intel the pressure is going to be on for Adobe to get a move on.
    "Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien." FM Arouet
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
    "Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience" Unknown
    Ron White was right

  11. #11
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    (◣_◢)
    Posts
    7,502

    Default

    sory? why did mac update to intel aren't they supposed to be their own brand?
    Quote Originally Posted by dualmeister View Post
    LOL I have the exact same lava lamp

  12. #12
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    2,620

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aspersie View Post
    sory? why did mac update to intel aren't they supposed to be their own brand?
    They are their own brand - but they are just using the intel processors in their computers - Dell, Mecer etc. all do the same - the reason it is a big jump is before they used the PowerPC chips made by IBM (there is a big difference between the chip maker and the manufactorer of the computer)

  13. #13
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    (◣_◢)
    Posts
    7,502

    Default

    so basically if you buy a mac today it's the same as buying a intel desktop?
    Quote Originally Posted by dualmeister View Post
    LOL I have the exact same lava lamp

  14. #14

    Default

    Intel dont make desktops afaik - it's an apple machine with an intel cpu running osx.

    The operating system is an important distinction.
    "Le mieux est l'ennemi du bien." FM Arouet
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
    "Never argue with an idiot. They drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience" Unknown
    Ron White was right

  15. #15
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    2,620

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aspersie View Post
    so basically if you buy a mac today it's the same as buying a intel desktop?
    Yes and no - it still has all the other mac hardware, it still runs OSX (which i think is now possible on other machiens but not worth the effort), it's still a mac - the only difference is that it is supposed to be faster than before and some (but most will) less-mainstream applications will not work (only one I have come across so far is Open Office and a couple of heavily java orientated applications)

    Oh - and it lets you dual boot OSX with XP

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •