Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Afew Questions :

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cape Town, Bergvliet
    Posts
    136

    Default Afew Questions :

    Hey,

    I recently have completely given up on iBurst and am currently looking to install DSL. I just have a few questions :

    1. Is it possible to split a DSL account between 2 properties. My iBurst is set up so that i have an iBurst modem at Work and at home. I pay for 1 account (R689) for both the home and work combined. Is it possible to do this with DSL ?

    2. What would the setup costs me and are there any hidden costs i should know about?

    3. What ISP should i be looking at for a 3 gig shaped account ?

    Thanks alot for your time

  2. #2
    Grandmaster Scooby_Doo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    In a Box, Next to a tree.
    Posts
    4,587

    Default

    1. No, you could have the same ISP username and password but you would still need to pay for you adsl line at home and adsl line at work. (Edit. if you want this why not try vodacom HSDPA.)

    2. Nothing if you take the self install which is easy.

    3. Telkom if you want the softcap, or pretty much any other will do just have to shop around.
    =====
    If trees could scream would we be so cavalier about cutting them down. What if they screamed all the time for no reason?
    =====

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cape Town, Bergvliet
    Posts
    136

    Default

    So basically if i wanted say a 512 at my house, i would pay a the telkom line rate, and if i wanted one at the office, i would have to pay another telkom line fee?

    If so, thats a damn pitty. Thanks for the help

  4. #4
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    7,252

    Default

    Ja thats how it goes, but not all ISP accounts have conncurent connections either, ask about that.

    The cheapest 3 Gig account would be cybersmart, but they only allow one connection so it wouldnt work on 2 ADSL lines at the same time.

    oh and www.hellkom.co.za have comparisons for all the packages, look there. I've gonna be joining Daev™ games :O

  5. #5
    Super Grandmaster killadoob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    South Africa.
    Posts
    46,585

    Default

    plz dont foget they charge you for 2 months on your first bill so make sure you have a little bit of cash to pay for that

    i can see another thread coming when u get your first bill *g*

  6. #6

    Default

    Id say go for either openweb or Webafrica. But personally, openweb is better, as it has allot of products, and good prices too.Telkom is only good for the softcap.
    “Everything in moderation, including moderation.”


    ― Oscar Wilde

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cape Town, Bergvliet
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Well basically i cant get ADSL if im having to pay for 2 Lines and 2 ISP accounts. Its not a viable. Guess im stuck on P2P blocked, slow browsing, troublesome iBurst. Oh wells

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •