Afrihost - Pure Fibre Feedback Thread

willsotaku

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
392
@AfriMan

My line was due for migration on the 31st Aug, i see my Gigapoint is showing the service light is off so assume line can be migrated. does the ONT need to be swapped out with Metrofibre. was a previous CISP client so haev a Gigapoint 802v2
 

Cocopops

Active Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Messages
51
And this is mainly the reason that I don't want to jump ship. Being with Openserve and me having bad luck in general, this is something that will drive me up the walls. I'll rather stay put with CISP than put myself through all this hassle. :(
This was my worry as well, but the Cost difference was too large to ignore.
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,566
@AfriMan

My line was due for migration on the 31st Aug, i see my Gigapoint is showing the service light is off so assume line can be migrated. does the ONT need to be swapped out with Metrofibre. was a previous CISP client so haev a Gigapoint 802v2
Usually the ONT doesn't need to be changed - only seen that a few times where the operator changes the devices they use for their network.
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,566
Hey @AfriMan ,

I am connected ad have asked the team to upgrade my line from 100mb to 200mb with confirmation that it will still be free, only for them to tell me I will be charged the Pro-Rata rate.

I have the whatsapp comm earlier last month in which the representative stated I would not be charged pro-rata and it would be free in totality - can you help me resolve?


I too had this thought, but the saving is too large for me to ignore. A significant Rand Value saving.

Luckily my transition was super smooth - No Down Time.
We're chatting about this on PM - happy to credit that pro-rata fee back.

At the end of the day, you could have signed up for a higher speed and then downgraded, so if you do it out of sequence, it amounts to the same thing.
 

Cocopops

Active Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Messages
51
We're chatting about this on PM - happy to credit that pro-rata fee back.

At the end of the day, you could have signed up for a higher speed and then downgraded, so if you do it out of sequence, it amounts to the same thing.
Apologies I had replied to another thread but my previously typed out message was still there (Before I messaged you) and went through, have since deleted.
 

MadHatterZA

Active Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
46
Logically that would be the case, but at the end of the day you could have signed up for the faster speed, even if your line was slower with old ISP. So at the end of the day we're happy for people to try out better speeds as part of the free service, as long as they're happy to either be billed for the upgraded service, or downgrade before the 15th of their final month to pay what they are happy to pay.
Does this mean that if I got 100meg and upgraded to 200 I need to pay pro-rata even through I would have not needed to pay if I just got 200meg in the first place?
Just got a surprise invoice that I'm not too stoked about. (Doesn't make sense in terms of what you said)
(Edit: I see I'm not the only one who seems to have been bamboozled haha)
707861
 
Last edited:

WarrieP

Active Member
Joined
May 22, 2019
Messages
60
Does this mean that if I got 100meg and upgraded to 200 I need to pay pro-rata even through I would have not needed to pay if I just got 200meg in the first place?
Just got a surprise invoice that I'm not too stoked about. (Doesn't make sense in terms of what you said)
(Edit: I see I'm not the only one who seems to have been bamboozled haha)
View attachment 707861
Initially yes, same was said to me and I had to pay in, but seems AfriMan will sort you out with a refund for the difference now :)
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,566
Apologies I had replied to another thread but my previously typed out message was still there (Before I messaged you) and went through, have since deleted.

No stress - just want to make sure we're on the same page still :)
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,566
Does this mean that if I got 100meg and upgraded to 200 I need to pay pro-rata even through I would have not needed to pay if I just got 200meg in the first place?
Just got a surprise invoice that I'm not too stoked about. (Doesn't make sense in terms of what you said)
(Edit: I see I'm not the only one who seems to have been bamboozled haha)
View attachment 707861
Unfortunately we don't automatically credit the upgrade fee - so I will do that manually for you.

Saw your PM - will get your deets.
 

n1ckna5

Active Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
44
Finally gotten the migration order though! :).

@AfriMan Am i able to just plug and play with the new router provided once the migration has happened? Is there anything i can do to speed up the process?

TIA
 

blowdart18

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
760
Signed up for pure fibre with Afrihost, but nothing has changed in the past 3 years of owning multiple products with them in terms of the way the website works.

I understand now why people get frustrated.

Sign up, give in all the details and now you sit with a single screen that greets you: "Processing order"
Now to get more info you must talk to a support agent, wait for feedback, ask questions.
Surely you can make an interface that gives clients details to what is happening behind the scene.

An example:

Visual representation with colour <RED> <AMBER> <GREEN>

Order status - Placed / Processing / Finalization / Closed
Order Comments - < insert pertinent comments i.e FNO contacted for installing >
Order History - < all history related to order placed >

Order breakdown-

Router dispatch - Picked / Packed / Courier pickup / On its way
Router Tracking - <Insert waybill>

ONT Order - Order placed / Scheduling / Completed
ONT Comments - <Order placed with FNO - awaiting scheduling date>

Line Activation - Waiting FNO feedback / Pending activation / Activated


I don't mind waiting, just thought a company would have implemented a graphical interface to give feedback to clients.
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,566
Finally gotten the migration order though! :).

@AfriMan Am i able to just plug and play with the new router provided once the migration has happened? Is there anything i can do to speed up the process?

TIA
Not really - but you can have everythign setup. Once the line is with us, you just have to complete the activation step on activate.afrihost.com
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,566
Signed up for pure fibre with Afrihost, but nothing has changed in the past 3 years of owning multiple products with them in terms of the way the website works.

I understand now why people get frustrated.

Sign up, give in all the details and now you sit with a single screen that greets you: "Processing order"
Now to get more info you must talk to a support agent, wait for feedback, ask questions.
Surely you can make an interface that gives clients details to what is happening behind the scene.

An example:

Visual representation with colour <RED> <AMBER> <GREEN>

Order status - Placed / Processing / Finalization / Closed
Order Comments - < insert pertinent comments i.e FNO contacted for installing >
Order History - < all history related to order placed >

Order breakdown-

Router dispatch - Picked / Packed / Courier pickup / On its way
Router Tracking - <Insert waybill>

ONT Order - Order placed / Scheduling / Completed
ONT Comments - <Order placed with FNO - awaiting scheduling date>

Line Activation - Waiting FNO feedback / Pending activation / Activated


I don't mind waiting, just thought a company would have implemented a graphical interface to give feedback to clients.
I've sent it through to our Fibre Ops manager. Some great suggestions here :)
 

Nicholas Lisse

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2016
Messages
325
Don't stress - should anything go NOT according to plan, just PM me and we will get it fixed.
Came home. Internet wasn’t working. Reset my router and up pops an Afrihost prompt and bang. I’m back online.

Must say, as far as activations go, this was really really painless.

Well done Afrihost. Now I hope I get to enjoy 3 free months?
 

naeem.ally

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
278
Came home. Internet wasn’t working. Reset my router and up pops an Afrihost prompt and bang. I’m back online.

Must say, as far as activations go, this was really really painless.

Well done Afrihost. Now I hope I get to enjoy 3 free months?
You got lucky. I’m bleeding Mobile Data at the moment.
 

naeem.ally

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
278
I've just chatted with Vumatel, and they're waiting for your fibre ops guys to update on your side, so that Vuma can issue new ON.

As pleasant as she is, your lady telling me that my hold time is 21 minutes for the last 5 minutes is less cool now. @AfriMan, how can I try get this checked? No connectivity for 3 days is becoming an issue. Granted, it's my issue, but I'm hoping it can be resolved sooner rather than later.
Did you chat to anyone specific. Vuma seems to be ignoring my support requests.
I’ve confirmed with Vox that they have released my line. @AfriMan seems to think Vuma needs to move my line over from PPPoE to DynamicIP but it seems like they really slow in doing this or Afrihost hasn’t communicated properly to them. 3 days and counting and still nothing.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
14,338
Came home. Internet wasn’t working. Reset my router and up pops an Afrihost prompt and bang. I’m back online.

Must say, as far as activations go, this was really really painless.

Well done Afrihost. Now I hope I get to enjoy 3 free months?
You should get the first invoice that is credited today or tomorrow latest and then your following months should look something like this depending on package and cable provider obviously but it will be credited like this.

708077
 
Top