Afrihost - Pure Fibre Feedback Thread

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,557
Thanks @Loppas will give the vpn a shot.

@AfriMan , not sure if these would be of some use to you and your team, but thought I'd post them anyway, they are trace's from our previous isp to the same iRacing server's in Amsterdam, aswell as 2 from the US.

EU iRacing Servers:
Server 1
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| removed - 0 | 20 | 20 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 192.168.10.5 - 0 | 20 | 20 | 16 | 18 | 20 | 17 |
| 192.168.11.6 - 0 | 20 | 20 | 15 | 16 | 19 | 17 |
| uwx-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 20 | 20 | 15 | 17 | 19 | 16 |
| usi-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 20 | 20 | 164 | 169 | 172 | 169 |
| u102-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 20 | 20 | 164 | 165 | 168 | 166 |
| peering.thn.lon.leaseweb.net - 0 | 20 | 20 | 169 | 170 | 173 | 171 |
| et-26-1.agg02.ams-01.leaseweb.net - 0 | 20 | 20 | 165 | 167 | 173 | 167 |
| ae-102.br01.ams-01.nl.leaseweb.net - 0 | 20 | 20 | 165 | 167 | 173 | 167 |
| te-4-3.ce30.ams-01.nl.leaseweb.net - 0 | 20 | 20 | 165 | 168 | 177 | 167 |
| 83.149.102.49 - 0 | 20 | 20 | 165 | 168 | 180 | 167 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|

Server 2
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| removed - 0 | 9 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 192.168.10.5 - 0 | 9 | 9 | 17 | 18 | 20 | 19 |
| 192.168.11.6 - 0 | 9 | 9 | 15 | 16 | 19 | 15 |
| uwy-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 9 | 9 | 15 | 17 | 19 | 18 |
| uvu-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 9 | 9 | 159 | 161 | 167 | 159 |
| u102-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 9 | 9 | 159 | 160 | 162 | 159 |
| peering.thn.lon.leaseweb.net - 0 | 9 | 9 | 165 | 166 | 168 | 165 |
| et-26-1.agg02.ams-01.leaseweb.net - 0 | 9 | 9 | 161 | 163 | 168 | 164 |
| ae-102.br01.ams-01.nl.leaseweb.net - 0 | 9 | 9 | 161 | 165 | 169 | 162 |
| te-4-3.ce30.ams-01.nl.leaseweb.net - 0 | 9 | 9 | 161 | 173 | 247 | 165 |
| 95.211.179.20 - 0 | 9 | 9 | 166 | 168 | 174 | 167 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|

Server 3
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| removed - 0 | 6 | 6 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 192.168.10.5 - 0 | 6 | 6 | 16 | 17 | 19 | 19 |
| 192.168.11.6 - 0 | 6 | 6 | 15 | 16 | 18 | 18 |
| uwx-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 6 | 6 | 15 | 17 | 19 | 18 |
| uvu-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 6 | 6 | 164 | 165 | 167 | 166 |
| u102-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 6 | 6 | 163 | 165 | 166 | 166 |
| peering.thn.lon.leaseweb.net - 0 | 6 | 6 | 169 | 170 | 172 | 169 |
| et-26-1.agg02.ams-01.leaseweb.net - 0 | 6 | 6 | 165 | 166 | 168 | 165 |
| ae-102.br01.ams-01.nl.leaseweb.net - 0 | 6 | 6 | 166 | 167 | 171 | 168 |
| te-6-1.ce29.ams-01.nl.leaseweb.net - 0 | 6 | 6 | 175 | 177 | 178 | 178 |
| 95.211.179.21 - 0 | 6 | 6 | 169 | 172 | 175 | 172 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|

Server 4
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| removed - 0 | 7 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 192.168.10.5 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 17 | 20 | 22 | 21 |
| 192.168.11.6 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 15 | 16 | 19 | 17 |
| uwy-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 7 | 7 | 15 | 16 | 19 | 17 |
| uvu-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 7 | 7 | 160 | 161 | 163 | 163 |
| u102-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 7 | 7 | 159 | 161 | 163 | 162 |
| peering.thn.lon.leaseweb.net - 0 | 7 | 7 | 165 | 166 | 168 | 166 |
| et-26-1.agg02.ams-01.leaseweb.net - 0 | 7 | 7 | 165 | 166 | 168 | 166 |
| ae-102.br01.ams-01.nl.leaseweb.net - 0 | 7 | 7 | 161 | 162 | 164 | 161 |
| te-6-1.ce29.ams-01.nl.leaseweb.net - 0 | 7 | 7 | 170 | 171 | 172 | 171 |
| 95.211.179.54 - 0 | 7 | 7 | 171 | 172 | 173 | 172 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|


US iRacing servers:
Server 1
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| removed - 0 | 10 | 10 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 192.168.10.5 - 0 | 10 | 10 | 16 | 23 | 34 | 19 |
| 192.168.11.6 - 0 | 10 | 10 | 15 | 16 | 18 | 15 |
| uxa-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 10 | 10 | 15 | 16 | 18 | 17 |
| 10gigabitethernet1-2.core1.nyc6.he.net - 0 | 10 | 10 | 210 | 235 | 256 | 239 |
| decix-ny-px.jfk01.twdx.net - 0 | 10 | 10 | 205 | 207 | 209 | 205 |
| bbr02-ae-352.bos01.twdx.net - 0 | 10 | 10 | 211 | 213 | 215 | 213 |
| dcr02-hu-0-0-0-0.bos01.twdx.net - 0 | 10 | 10 | 211 | 212 | 214 | 212 |
| iracing.com.dcr02.bos01.twdx.net - 0 | 10 | 10 | 210 | 211 | 214 | 210 |
| bosrace02-orig.iracing.com - 0 | 10 | 10 | 210 | 211 | 213 | 213 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|

Server 2
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| removed - 0 | 9 | 9 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 192.168.10.5 - 0 | 9 | 9 | 16 | 20 | 32 | 20 |
| 192.168.11.6 - 0 | 9 | 9 | 15 | 16 | 18 | 16 |
| uxa-cust.coolideas.co.za - 0 | 9 | 9 | 15 | 16 | 19 | 18 |
| 10gigabitethernet1-2.core1.nyc6.he.net - 20 | 5 | 4 | 210 | 211 | 213 | 213 |
| decix-ny-px.jfk01.twdx.net - 0 | 9 | 9 | 205 | 207 | 209 | 207 |
| bbr02-ae-343.bos01.twdx.net - 0 | 8 | 8 | 211 | 212 | 214 | 214 |
| dcr02-hu-0-0-0-0.bos01.twdx.net - 0 | 9 | 9 | 211 | 212 | 214 | 214 |
| iracing.com.dcr02.bos01.twdx.net - 0 | 9 | 9 | 210 | 212 | 214 | 212 |
| bosrace10-orig.iracing.com - 0 | 9 | 9 | 215 | 216 | 218 | 215 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|

Anyway, have a great rest of the weekend everyone.
Appreciate the additional info. It doesn't really help us cos we use different carriers, but it's good to be able to demonstrate that better ping is possible.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Yuu

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,557
Asked about the status of a Fibre product and if I could escalate it because we do have Fibre in our area.

However got the below message from the agent totally unrelated:

Please connect your computer to your D'Link router either wirelessly or with an ethernet cable (LAN cable) and open a web browser (Google Chrome, Internet Explorer, Safari, etc.).

Please type the following into the URL bar of your browser:

192.168.01

This should open a D'Link page asking for a password and username.

Type in the following:

Username: admin
Password: *afrihostadmin1

*--please try one of the following as the password, in case the first* doesn't work

Afrihostadmin1
Afrihostadmin
afrihostadmin

If you are unable to access the router from the gateway IP address, I would suggest resetting the router to its factory default settings.

You can do so by pressing the reset button, located at the bottom of the router, for 10 seconds.

Once the router has been reset, you will need to connect to the default wireless name (which should be named something similar to DIR-825), the password of which you will find at the bottom of the router on the D'Link sticker.

When you have connected successfully, your web broswer should bring up the D'Link page automatically, but if it doesn't please type in the IP address below into your web browser:


Please read below for instructions on how to setup your router and activate your fibre.

1. When the device is powering up, the LAN lights will flash in numerical order.
2. The interface will automatically open if the device has never been plugged in before. (non-configured devicees)
3. When the interface loads up, click "start".
4. Language is English
5. Do not go to the advanced settings. Click continue.
6. Device mode will be "Wired Connection", then choose "Router Mode"
7. Connection type will depend on the provider (Dynamic IPv4)
8. Do not clone MAC address and do not Use VLAN.
9. You will need to set up both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz separately.
9.1. Change "Network Authentication" to WPA2-PSK (unless it already is)
9.2. Change the "Wi-Fi Network Name" (should you wish to do so)
9.3. Change "Password PSK"
10. Do not activate IPTV or VOIP.
11. Change the admin login password.

Once you have completed the steps above, you should be taken to the ClientZone login page automatically, please copy the following into your browser:

login.afrihost.com

You will need to enter your ClientZone username and password into the relevant fields. When you have logged in successfully, you will be presented with a page which says "You're Good To Go."

If you have gotten this page, you should be able to connect from here.

Once you have completed this, I would like to ask you to login to the router again (using the password you had set on step 11). Once you are logged in, I would like you to click on "System" button on the left-hand side, then click on "Firmware". Please check what the current version is, if it is v3.0.3, please click on the "Check For Updates" button on this page and if it gives you a notification saying that there is an available update, please click on the "Apply Update" button. Give it about 15 minutes to apply the update, but wait for it to say that the update has been complete, before attempting to use the internet.

Please make sure to not interrupt the router whilst the router is updating the firmware, as this can corrupt the router if it is interrupted during the process
Gosh, that doesn't seem to be related to your question at all :(

Please drop me your details on PM. I know the WhatsApp manager will want to know more about what happened so he can prevent this happening again :(
 
  • Like
Reactions: Yuu

R4m80

Active Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
96
@AfriMan I was on the home fibre product on Openserve. Moved over to Pure fibre and now I get packet loss and terrible ping. As soon as it gets to Liquid Telecom the ping shoots sky high. I'm in Durban. Why is my line so bad after changing from home fibre to Pure fibre?
 

JustinB

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
786
@AfriMan I've reached the end of my patience today - I gave Afrihost 6 weeks notice to migrate my line. Vox released the FSAN on 2 September, and I'm still without internet.

Dealing with the WhatsApp guys is futile - they don't have the answers. It seems your fibre ops team don't deal with the public, so i just keep getting feedback that its Vumatel's fault. I've spent over an hour on the line to Vumatel repeatedly confirming the FSAN is active, waiting to be provisioned and a service activated - yet your team doesn't seem to be able to do this. Nor do they pick up the phone to and speak to Vumatel to figure out what may be going wrong.

At 12pm I'll be sending out requests to the other ISPs to see who will get me back online quickest.
 

silentc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2018
Messages
153
@AfriMan

Have an order outstanding regarding a vuma install. Apparently the area has fibre installed but my complex not (9 units). So now I am sitting with a sealed, useless fibre router and no fibre.

Would you like to follow up and nudge Vuma to do the install, or can you arrange to collect the router as it is a liability sitting there doing nothing, maybe you can even provide a plan c? Order # AH414570
 

naeem.ally

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2009
Messages
276
@AfriMan I've reached the end of my patience today - I gave Afrihost 6 weeks notice to migrate my line. Vox released the FSAN on 2 September, and I'm still without internet.

Dealing with the WhatsApp guys is futile - they don't have the answers. It seems your fibre ops team don't deal with the public, so i just keep getting feedback that its Vumatel's fault. I've spent over an hour on the line to Vumatel repeatedly confirming the FSAN is active, waiting to be provisioned and a service activated - yet your team doesn't seem to be able to do this. Nor do they pick up the phone to and speak to Vumatel to figure out what may be going wrong.

At 12pm I'll be sending out requests to the other ISPs to see who will get me back online quickest.
I feel your frustrations. Whatsapp chat is useless for these kind of issues. @AfriMan get critical care to help as they the only ones who would call Vuma directly and sort the problem out and not just log a ticket.
I wish Afrihost could identify these kind of issues a lot sooner so it can be escalated quickly and not the usual please reboot or wait 48 hours for the fault to be dealt with.
 

JustinB

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
786
I feel your frustrations. Whatsapp chat is useless for these kind of issues. @AfriMan get critical care to help as they the only ones who would call Vuma directly and sort the problem out and not just log a ticket.
I wish Afrihost could identify these kind of issues a lot sooner so it can be escalated quickly and not the usual please reboot or wait 48 hours for the fault to be dealt with.
That 48 hour story really gets me going... EVERY time you ask for anything there's a 24-48 hour SLA.

Thanks for making me aware, I wasn't aware of "critical care" - maybe @AfriMan can sort this out, but really, the clock is ticking...
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,557
@AfriMan I was on the home fibre product on Openserve. Moved over to Pure fibre and now I get packet loss and terrible ping. As soon as it gets to Liquid Telecom the ping shoots sky high. I'm in Durban. Why is my line so bad after changing from home fibre to Pure fibre?
You should be seeing stable pings. In general, there should be only improvement moving from Home to Pure.

Have you run a traceroute that I can look at? Remember that Home was shaped. So if you were running torrents, etc concurrently, it would have prioritised your services accordingly to preserve streaming or gamin experience. On Pure, your services would compete for bandwidth on your own network.

A traceroute could tell us a lot about what's happening.
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,557
@AfriMan I've reached the end of my patience today - I gave Afrihost 6 weeks notice to migrate my line. Vox released the FSAN on 2 September, and I'm still without internet.

Dealing with the WhatsApp guys is futile - they don't have the answers. It seems your fibre ops team don't deal with the public, so i just keep getting feedback that its Vumatel's fault. I've spent over an hour on the line to Vumatel repeatedly confirming the FSAN is active, waiting to be provisioned and a service activated - yet your team doesn't seem to be able to do this. Nor do they pick up the phone to and speak to Vumatel to figure out what may be going wrong.

At 12pm I'll be sending out requests to the other ISPs to see who will get me back online quickest.
That's definitely not great. If your line is available, then we should be able to grab it quickly. Also, at end of the day, while we do have processes in place, everyone here at Afrihost is here to serve our clients. Nobody is above picking up the phone - if they are the right person to do so :(

Please drop me a PM with your details and let me get this sorted out for you ASAP.
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,557
@AfriMan

Have an order outstanding regarding a vuma install. Apparently the area has fibre installed but my complex not (9 units). So now I am sitting with a sealed, useless fibre router and no fibre.

Would you like to follow up and nudge Vuma to do the install, or can you arrange to collect the router as it is a liability sitting there doing nothing, maybe you can even provide a plan c? Order # AH414570
I totally get your frustration here. So, with complexes we need to get additional body corporate approval, as the provider will set up a point of presence within the complex to make installation easier for each unit. This seems to be a stumbling block in terms of getting this permission.

The Fibre providers are super keen, so it might be a good idea to check with your body corporate if there is a hold up on their side. Most likely it's just a permission form that has not be signed.

In terms of the deal, I would hold onto the router. You are going to get fibre eventually - so you'll need it when you're ready.
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,557
After @cavedog recommendation . So @AfriMan how does the refer a friend system work ?
View attachment 710399
Refer a friend works for DSL and Hosting products only. And it's also not applicable to some products - like Bundles.

You can create a link in your ClientZone and then paste that link into a social media post or your signature for people to click on when they sign up for eligible products.

If the product is eligible, they get 50% of their pro-rata fee AND 50% off the next full month. You get the equivalent credit taken off your account as a general credit, regardless of what products you have.
 

JustinB

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
786
That's definitely not great. If your line is available, then we should be able to grab it quickly. Also, at end of the day, while we do have processes in place, everyone here at Afrihost is here to serve our clients. Nobody is above picking up the phone - if they are the right person to do so :(

Please drop me a PM with your details and let me get this sorted out for you ASAP.
PM sent. Good luck!
 

blowdart18

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
760
Gosh, that doesn't seem to be related to your question at all :(

Please drop me your details on PM. I know the WhatsApp manager will want to know more about what happened so he can prevent this happening again :(
PM sent
 

JustinB

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
786
That's definitely not great. If your line is available, then we should be able to grab it quickly. Also, at end of the day, while we do have processes in place, everyone here at Afrihost is here to serve our clients. Nobody is above picking up the phone - if they are the right person to do so :(

Please drop me a PM with your details and let me get this sorted out for you ASAP.
PM sent. Good luck!
@AfriMan i see the WhatsApp channel is down - how can I check where I stand?
 
Top