Afrihost - Pure Fibre Feedback Thread

JustinB

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
786
That's definitely not great. If your line is available, then we should be able to grab it quickly. Also, at end of the day, while we do have processes in place, everyone here at Afrihost is here to serve our clients. Nobody is above picking up the phone - if they are the right person to do so :(

Please drop me a PM with your details and let me get this sorted out for you ASAP.
I don't get it @AfriMan. I sent you a PM just after 1pm, I've received no acknowledgement. No feedback, except when I took a chance and asked for feedback via WhatsApp and got the typical "it will take 24 to 48 hours" nonsense.

So tomorrow I'll dedicate some time to send in applications to all the other ISPs. Whoever provisions my FSAN first, activates the service and gives me PPPOE details wins my business.
 

R4m80

Active Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
89
How bad is Afrihost's service? 7pm and they don't have any support staff available. Most people are only getting home from work now, so they'll only now realise that their Internet is not working, but too bad, you'll only get help tomorrow when you are at work and they tell you to reset your router, while you are at work.
 

Loppas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2014
Messages
484
How bad is Afrihost's service? 7pm and they don't have any support staff available. Most people are only getting home from work now, so they'll only now realise that their Internet is not working, but too bad, you'll only get help tomorrow when you are at work and they tell you to reset your router, while you are at work.
What issue are you having?
 

Loppas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2014
Messages
484
Is there an issue on openserve atm in cape town? speeds are looking a bit suspect on my side. This is on 200/100 e.g.







But yet when i do an iperf:
Code:
iperf3.exe --verbose --port 17001 -c queen.cisp.co.za --bandwidth 160M -l 1400 --omit 2 -R -u
[  4] local 192.168.0.107 port 54492 connected to 62.233.65.195 port 17001
Starting Test: protocol: UDP, 1 streams, 1400 byte blocks, omitting 2 seconds, 10 second test
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth       Jitter    Lost/Total Datagrams
[  4]   0.00-1.00   sec  19.3 MBytes   161 Mbits/sec  0.061 ms  328/14761 (2.2%)  (omitted)
[  4]   1.00-2.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.043 ms  0/14286 (0%)  (omitted)
[  4]   0.00-1.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.030 ms  0/14288 (0%)
[  4]   1.00-2.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.024 ms  0/14285 (0%)
[  4]   2.00-3.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.037 ms  0/14287 (0%)
[  4]   3.00-4.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.026 ms  0/14287 (0%)
[  4]   4.00-5.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.030 ms  0/14283 (0%)
[  4]   5.00-6.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.039 ms  0/14287 (0%)
[  4]   6.00-7.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.017 ms  0/14292 (0%)
[  4]   7.00-8.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.023 ms  0/14285 (0%)
[  4]   8.00-9.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.026 ms  0/14287 (0%)
[  4]   9.00-10.00  sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.022 ms  0/14278 (0%)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Test Complete. Summary Results:
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth       Jitter    Lost/Total Datagrams
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec   194 MBytes   163 Mbits/sec  0.019 ms  0/145000 (0%)
[  4] Sent 145000 datagrams
 
Last edited:

Napalm

Expert Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
2,266
Can you spell "throttle". Lol

Seems like some throttling or maybe prioritizationing
 

Loppas

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2014
Messages
484
Can you spell "throttle". Lol

Seems like some throttling or maybe prioritizationing
It does seem like that to me, but these pure fibre packages aren't supposed to have usage thresholds or shaping. Its very weird because few things are running fine like steam, i fired up a download and it was going full speed but then it could be because steam uses multiple threads. My internet speeds atm mirror the speedtest images above, anything outside of cape town is significantly slower than what it should be.

Edit:
Tried a 1gb webafrica account and im getting the same crap speeds.

Edit 2:
I feel like an idiot, it was a tcp scaling issue which i assume was caused by installing hamachi. Auto tuning was set to disabled and upon re-enabling it, it fixed the issue :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,547
I don't get it @AfriMan. I sent you a PM just after 1pm, I've received no acknowledgement. No feedback, except when I took a chance and asked for feedback via WhatsApp and got the typical "it will take 24 to 48 hours" nonsense.

So tomorrow I'll dedicate some time to send in applications to all the other ISPs. Whoever provisions my FSAN first, activates the service and gives me PPPOE details wins my business.
Sorry about that, Justin. I got your PM and have escalated it for you. Would have liked to have got to it sooner - but I promise we will get you some results.
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,547
How bad is Afrihost's service? 7pm and they don't have any support staff available. Most people are only getting home from work now, so they'll only now realise that their Internet is not working, but too bad, you'll only get help tomorrow when you are at work and they tell you to reset your router, while you are at work.
We definitely do have staff available, however our phone lines close at 5pm. All our other channels should still be open.

And remember that you can log a call back and we'll call you when it's convenient for you or at the earliest available time.
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,547
Is there an issue on openserve atm in cape town? speeds are looking a bit suspect on my side. This is on 200/100 e.g.







But yet when i do an iperf:
Code:
iperf3.exe --verbose --port 17001 -c queen.cisp.co.za --bandwidth 160M -l 1400 --omit 2 -R -u
[  4] local 192.168.0.107 port 54492 connected to 62.233.65.195 port 17001
Starting Test: protocol: UDP, 1 streams, 1400 byte blocks, omitting 2 seconds, 10 second test
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth       Jitter    Lost/Total Datagrams
[  4]   0.00-1.00   sec  19.3 MBytes   161 Mbits/sec  0.061 ms  328/14761 (2.2%)  (omitted)
[  4]   1.00-2.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.043 ms  0/14286 (0%)  (omitted)
[  4]   0.00-1.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.030 ms  0/14288 (0%)
[  4]   1.00-2.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.024 ms  0/14285 (0%)
[  4]   2.00-3.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.037 ms  0/14287 (0%)
[  4]   3.00-4.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.026 ms  0/14287 (0%)
[  4]   4.00-5.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.030 ms  0/14283 (0%)
[  4]   5.00-6.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.039 ms  0/14287 (0%)
[  4]   6.00-7.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.017 ms  0/14292 (0%)
[  4]   7.00-8.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.023 ms  0/14285 (0%)
[  4]   8.00-9.00   sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.026 ms  0/14287 (0%)
[  4]   9.00-10.00  sec  19.1 MBytes   160 Mbits/sec  0.022 ms  0/14278 (0%)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Test Complete. Summary Results:
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth       Jitter    Lost/Total Datagrams
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec   194 MBytes   163 Mbits/sec  0.019 ms  0/145000 (0%)
[  4] Sent 145000 datagrams
Not aware of any general Openserve issues last night.

Did you run a traceroute?
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,547
Can you spell "throttle". Lol

Seems like some throttling or maybe prioritizationing
Definitely no throttling. Prioritisation would amount to shaping, which we also don't do on Pure Fibre.
 

Fjorko

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
1,277
Hi

Sorry be impatient, but an upgrade surely doesn't take this long ? With CISP i had an upgrade done and dusted within 24-48 hrs. Are you guys sure the request was submitted ?

I mean we are almost 1/2 way through my "second" free month ( which is actually my first ) , so it would be nice to feel what the 200 Mbps lane feels like before my free time is used up....

Thanks
 

AfriMan

Afrihost Representative
Company Rep
Joined
May 24, 2012
Messages
16,547
Hi

Sorry be impatient, but an upgrade surely doesn't take this long ? With CISP i had an upgrade done and dusted within 24-48 hrs. Are you guys sure the request was submitted ?

I mean we are almost 1/2 way through my "second" free month ( which is actually my first ) , so it would be nice to feel what the 200 Mbps lane feels like before my free time is used up....

Thanks
I'm really sorry about this. The upgraded is submitted and it's been sitting on their system waiting to be actioned. We've escalated it to our Openserve account manager for urgent attention. AfriFella has been sitting on their heads to get the upgrade through.
 

Fjorko

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2007
Messages
1,277
I'm really sorry about this. The upgraded is submitted and it's been sitting on their system waiting to be actioned. We've escalated it to our Openserve account manager for urgent attention. AfriFella has been sitting on their heads to get the upgrade through.
OK thanks - not a train smash i guess, but would still be nice to maximize my "test" period.
 
Top