Status
Not open for further replies.

Phinix

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
980
I can test for you as well, can you give me twitch url you are struggling with ?
Was Dansgaming but he is offline at the moment. But basically any US based streamer. My issue doesn't seem to be channel specific.
 

image132

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
1,137
Octotel 100/25 Cape Gate Area Cape Town.
No problems here.
Would you mind running a cable from your house to mine so I can get some working internet? :ROFL:

This is mine:


And Twitch:
26th Twitch 948PM.jpg

Completely useless since twitch can't function at 140-200KB/s. Just like every other night for the last 5 (going to be 6 in 3 days time) months.

*EDIT Octotel 100/25. Claremont, Cape Town.
 

joeline

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2013
Messages
331
Would you mind running a cable from your house to mine so I can get some working internet? :ROFL:

This is mine:


And Twitch:
View attachment 625088

Completely useless since twitch can't function at 140-200KB/s. Just like every other night for the last 5 (going to be 6 in 3 days time) months.

*EDIT Octotel 100/25. Claremont, Cape Town.
Oh, I wish I could. I was about to give up too, then something was done. I know they will fix yours too. Keep the faith.
 

Zodiak

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2009
Messages
620
PBCool, I'm still down.... can't even open pages or Speedtest. When I do, I get 0.07 speed and sometimes upload speed is at 40 megs when it finds or connects to the server. Please help, has been since 3 pm yesterday
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,663
Yes please elaborate on what you said on Friday.
Octotel indicated that the backhaul to the Southern Suburbs is not congested, and running at 6 out of 10Gbps capacity over their own dark fibre infrastructure, and have indicated during a telecon last week that they will do everything they can to resolve the matter. I've also explained to them that since the Blouberg changes people such as Joeline have been working fine and the issues have been resolved, we have hundreds of other clients without issues and that thus the matter must reside on your portion of the network.

I am providing them with more stats and info from a Kenilworth client that shows exactly the same problem as you do during peak hours.

Other than that there's no concrete feedback as to resolution.
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,663
PBCool, I'm still down.... can't even open pages or Speedtest. When I do, I get 0.07 speed and sometimes upload speed is at 40 megs when it finds or connects to the server. Please help, has been since 3 pm yesterday
Your PPPoE connection is up and I can ping your device from our side. The issue has been logged with Evotel and it's now up to them.
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,663
@PBCool @TheRoDent

Twitch - like clock work - is degrading again tonight.

Here are two graphs from two separate streams:

View attachment 625054View attachment 625056

Going off past instances this behaviour will get worse and worse until it clears between 11pm and midnight.

Here are some speed tests done between and after the streams.

Local - Single thread:

View attachment 625058

Local - Multi thread:

View attachment 625060

International - London Coreix - Single:

View attachment 625062

International - London Coreix - Multi:

View attachment 625064

Here is a MTR to Live.Twitch.tv:

Code:
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                         router.asus.com -    0 |   90 |   90 |    0 |    0 |    1 |    0 |
|                   No response from host -  100 |   19 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|                            192.168.10.5 -    0 |   90 |   90 |    3 |    4 |    9 |    5 |
|                            192.168.11.6 -    0 |   90 |   90 |    2 |    3 |    5 |    5 |
|                             154.0.4.161 -    0 |   90 |   90 |    2 |    3 |    5 |    5 |
|                             154.0.4.158 -    0 |   90 |   90 |  142 |  143 |  145 |  142 |
|                              154.0.5.18 -    0 |   90 |   90 |  142 |  143 |  145 |  143 |
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|

And finally here is an iPerf test:

Code:
iperf3.exe -R -u -b 80M -p 17001 -c queen.cisp.co.za
Connecting to host queen.cisp.co.za, port 17001
Reverse mode, remote host queen.cisp.co.za is sending
[  4] local 155.93.216.100 port 57142 connected to 62.233.65.195 port 17001
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth       Jitter    Lost/Total Datagrams
[  4]   0.00-1.00   sec  8.36 MBytes  70.1 Mbits/sec  0.084 ms  153/1223 (13%)
[  4]   1.00-2.00   sec  9.52 MBytes  79.8 Mbits/sec  0.558 ms  3/1221 (0.25%)
[  4]   2.00-3.00   sec  9.50 MBytes  79.7 Mbits/sec  0.345 ms  5/1221 (0.41%)
[  4]   3.00-4.00   sec  9.54 MBytes  80.0 Mbits/sec  0.090 ms  0/1221 (0%)
[  4]   4.00-5.00   sec  9.54 MBytes  80.0 Mbits/sec  0.222 ms  0/1221 (0%)
[  4]   5.00-6.00   sec  9.53 MBytes  79.9 Mbits/sec  0.029 ms  0/1220 (0%)
[  4]   6.00-7.00   sec  9.54 MBytes  80.0 Mbits/sec  0.078 ms  0/1221 (0%)
[  4]   7.00-8.00   sec  9.53 MBytes  79.9 Mbits/sec  0.025 ms  1/1221 (0.082%)
[  4]   8.00-9.00   sec  9.52 MBytes  79.8 Mbits/sec  0.033 ms  2/1220 (0.16%)
[  4]   9.00-10.00  sec  9.52 MBytes  79.9 Mbits/sec  0.145 ms  2/1221 (0.16%)
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth       Jitter    Lost/Total Datagrams
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  96.8 MBytes  81.2 Mbits/sec  0.027 ms  167/12390 (1.3%)
[  4] Sent 12390 datagrams

iperf Done.

So what more info can I provide, or what needs to be done to sort this out once and for all?
Because if I switch over to my Vox test account, twitch streams perfectly.

I really want to help you so we can get this sorted.
(OS, 100/50, Cape Town)
Going by this, our international transit works like a charm for you, the local works like a charm, latency is good, packet loss is reasonable etc.

I don't know what's up with twitch. Given all the parameters it should be working just dandy. Would you be willing to try a proxy server if I set one up just to try and figure out what the heck is going on ?
 

image132

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
1,137
Octotel indicated that the backhaul to the Southern Suburbs is not congested, and running at 6 out of 10Gbps capacity over their own dark fibre infrastructure, and have indicated during a telecon last week that they will do everything they can to resolve the matter. I've also explained to them that since the Blouberg changes people such as Joeline have been working fine and the issues have been resolved, we have hundreds of other clients without issues and that thus the matter must reside on your portion of the network.

I am providing them with more stats and info from a Kenilworth client that shows exactly the same problem as you do during peak hours.

Other than that there's no concrete feedback as to resolution.
Thank you.

MDE who lives in my area is having issues too along with two other people on other ISPs in my area.
 

MDE

Expert Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,754
Thank you.

MDE who lives in my area is having issues too along with two other people on other ISPs in my area.
People all over Harfield which is connected to Claremont are having issues so I call BS from Octotel. Could it be the Cabinets that are congested? @TheRoDent

 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,663
Going by this, our international transit works like a charm for you, the local works like a charm, latency is good, packet loss is reasonable etc.

I don't know what's up with twitch. Given all the parameters it should be working just dandy. Would you be willing to try a proxy server if I set one up just to try and figure out what the heck is going on ?
@Phinix @MDE @image132 I've configured a squid proxy in Cape Town for you guys to try.

The host is trcprx01.cisp.co.za and the port is 3128. Please give it a go.

@MDE @image132 this might help in the short term as the proxy will relay your browser http and https connections and the TCP retransmission can be dealt with on a "Local" latency level rather than an international latency level.

Just google how to configure your browsers.
 

image132

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
1,137
Oh, that's useful info ^h^h ammo. Do you know which ISP's ?
I'm just going to drop the links in here. Its from Artyloops thread.

https://mybroadband.co.za/forum/threads/octotel-octofail-you-have-been-warned.1006378/post-22995948

https://mybroadband.co.za/forum/threads/octotel-octofail-you-have-been-warned.1006378/post-22999188

So Brawler and Budza. One is on Axxes and the other on RSAweb. Both live very close to me.

*EDIT I'll try your proxy tonight. I really appreciate this.
 

ArtyLoop

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2017
Messages
6,811
Octotel indicated that the backhaul to the Southern Suburbs is not congested, and running at 6 out of 10Gbps capacity over their own dark fibre infrastructure, and have indicated during a telecon last week that they will do everything they can to resolve the matter. I've also explained to them that since the Blouberg changes people such as Joeline have been working fine and the issues have been resolved, we have hundreds of other clients without issues and that thus the matter must reside on your portion of the network.

I am providing them with more stats and info from a Kenilworth client that shows exactly the same problem as you do during peak hours.

Other than that there's no concrete feedback as to resolution.
As I expected.
So we will be officially parting ways.
Octofail is another fly-by-night operation as per my gut instinct.
I have nothing further to add in this thread.
Thanks for your time, commendable effort and hard work.
Goodbye
 

Kwerty

Expert Member
Company Rep
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
1,139
@Phinix @MDE @image132 I've configured a squid proxy in Cape Town for you guys to try.

The host is trcprx01.cisp.co.za and the port is 3128. Please give it a go.

@MDE @image132 this might help in the short term as the proxy will relay your browser http and https connections and the TCP retransmission can be dealt with on a "Local" latency level rather than an international latency level.

Just google how to configure your browsers.
Thank you. I'll try this tonight. I've also been having issues with Twitch for the past 2 months. As soon as it hits peak time in the evening (usually around 8PM) it just becomes unwatchable. It was perfect for the last 11 months before this.
 

MDE

Expert Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,754
@Phinix @MDE @image132 I've configured a squid proxy in Cape Town for you guys to try.

The host is trcprx01.cisp.co.za and the port is 3128. Please give it a go.

@MDE @image132 this might help in the short term as the proxy will relay your browser http and https connections and the TCP retransmission can be dealt with on a "Local" latency level rather than an international latency level.

Just google how to configure your browsers.
Many thanks @TheRoDent. Unfortunately wont help with streaming services... :) Using MiBox media players and the sorts.

Please could you PM me your contact at Octotel so I can have a chat to them.
 

wingnut771

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
5,943
Going by this, our international transit works like a charm for you, the local works like a charm, latency is good, packet loss is reasonable etc.

I don't know what's up with twitch. Given all the parameters it should be working just dandy. Would you be willing to try a proxy server if I set one up just to try and figure out what the heck is going on ?
Is it not windows crap tcp window scaling settings? Run tcpoptimizer?
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,663
Many thanks @TheRoDent. Unfortunately wont help with streaming services... :) Using MiBox media players and the sorts.

Please could you PM me your contact at Octotel so I can have a chat to them.
There should be proxy settings for those, but whether the Twitch apps will honor that is another thing.
 

MDE

Expert Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,754
There should be proxy settings for those, but whether the Twitch apps will honor that is another thing.
With all due respect i'm not going around my house configuring 20 devices to work with a proxy server where I'm paying over R800 for a "fibre" connection which should just work. I do appreciate the effort of you supplying us an option. Don't get me wrong I know its not your network and so this is not attack on yourself or anyone from CISP.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top