Status
Not open for further replies.

bakkies

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 11, 2010
Messages
296
We have not received any specific information from Octotel regarding any changes or upgrades, but those loss statistics do look pretty good compared to what you usually experience.
Wow your call centre reminds me of Hellkom waiting on the line 15min already bad impression
 

MDE

Expert Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,720
@TheRoDent I've setup a cron bash script to monitor iperf in the evenings from 8 until 11 - . Is there anything else which needs monitoring? I see you mention a TCP iperf as well?
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,427
@TheRoDent I've setup a cron bash script to monitor iperf in the evenings from 8 until 11 - . Is there anything else which needs monitoring? I see you mention a TCP iperf as well?
The UDP is the best for detecting packet loss patterns. TCP is a nice to have, but not really required.
 

willsotaku

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
387
The UDP is the best for detecting packet loss patterns. TCP is a nice to have, but not really required.
If you have time might you have a chance to look at my ticket have updated it.

COOL-20190220-222012

Loss has gotten worse now @ 3.9% during peak times even MTR shows quite a bit of bad loss any idea if this issue is on my side of the line eg bad splice or cabling? going to be a problem as my spare fibre was broken when Exza did an install for the termination box so currently running on the backup since they spliced 2 points.

thanks!
 

MDE

Expert Member
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,720
The UDP is the best for detecting packet loss patterns. TCP is a nice to have, but not really required.
Great Thanks. Will monitor over the next few days. Last night as with @image132 things seemed okay...bit of packet loss of 3% for half and hour but not nearly as bad as the night before.
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,427
If you have time might you have a chance to look at my ticket have updated it.

COOL-20190220-222012

Loss has gotten worse now @ 3.9% during peak times even MTR shows quite a bit of bad loss any idea if this issue is on my side of the line eg bad splice or cabling? going to be a problem as my spare fibre was broken when Exza did an install for the termination box so currently running on the backup since they spliced 2 points.

thanks!
Can you please PM me? Need to confirm your account details and location.

Also please add to the ticket the output of

iperf3 --verbose --port 17001 -c lnms.cisp.co.za --bandwidth 150M -l 1400 --omit 2 -R -u
 

Butterfly777

Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2016
Messages
26
Reply from Octotel rep about the complaints about their service. It was part of an email requesting some information with an added note that I have heard they are having problems with service delivery. Can someone explain what they mean? I thought speed issues were infrastructure related. I don't know much about these things unfortunately but I do want to learn.
"Speed issues are rarely infrastructure related. As a network operator, we do not perform any traffic routing on our lines. ISPs are who do this in accordance with their FUPs where applicable. A lot of clients do not understand this though, hence the complaints. But we always and assist where we can."
 

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
8,603
Reply from Octotel rep about the complaints about their service. It was part of an email requesting some information with an added note that I have heard they are having problems with service delivery. Can someone explain what they mean? I thought speed issues were infrastructure related. I don't know much about these things unfortunately but I do want to learn.
"Speed issues are rarely infrastructure related. As a network operator, we do not perform any traffic routing on our lines. ISPs are who do this in accordance with their FUPs where applicable. A lot of clients do not understand this though, hence the complaints. But we always and assist where we can."
Lol...

Using a technicality to shift blame.

They may not be doing Layer 3 routing, but they are switching on layer 2 from each customer to the isp handover. Layer 2 can also have qos applied to the packets.
 

phuma

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
173
What is going on again now? <sigh> This is from Cape Town, Durbanville on vumatel trenched.

1551434000934.png
 

TheRoDent

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2003
Messages
3,427
@TheRoDent should I still be using the proxy or have you made those changes? In which case I can test tonight.
We've just made the routing changes for twitch -- depeered them at LINX and now routing via Cogent, which is the same route you traceroute from Vox showed.

Let's see.
 

Hxx

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2005
Messages
554
I have not received an invoice for March yet? Am I getting a free month for being such a good customer?
 

Phinix

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
967
We've just made the routing changes for twitch -- depeered them at LINX and now routing via Cogent, which is the same route you traceroute from Vox showed.

Let's see.
Awesome, will let you know how it goes tonight.
 

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
1,571
Getting some hellish packet loss to EU Apex servers.. started maybe 30 mins ago. Hoping it's resolved soon..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top