Web Squad ISP

Seeyou

Expert Member
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
1,731
Thoroughly regretting playing it safe and not risking the line transfer during the lockdown. Will definitely be joining you guys next month!
 

abudabi

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
2,445
Could twitch perfectly last night. And now this morning I queued a small download xpecting to wait hours; instead it came down at 13MB/s .

Nicely played websquad.
 
Last edited:

websquadza

WebSquad
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
1,178
Considering wacs went down, tonight was ok, especially with so many being on line with the lock down, obviously don't get the usual ping to the uk and the likes, but I got no disconnects and was able to game and hold bossing events in game without much impact, there was some, but not a huge impact, thank you for always trying your best in the most trying of times at the moment.

I think they need to unplug 2020 and restart the year, has so far been an exceptionally trying year, but here is to the year end bringing wonderful things
Seems much better now, thanks @websquadza
Could twitch perfectly last night. And now this morning I queued a small download xpecting to wait hours; instead it came down at 13MB/s .

Nicely played websquad.
Thanks for the great feedback! Will continue monitoring and ensure the next few days are as plain sailing as possible.

Thoroughly regretting playing it safe and not risking the line transfer during the lockdown. Will definitely be joining you guys next month!
Looking forward to welcoming you!
 

Chiller89

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2010
Messages
179
[mention]websquadza [/mention]- I see the notice on the site about line upgrades doesn’t mention anything about Octotel. Did I miss some comms around this, or still in the pipeline?
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
1,178
[mention]websquadza [/mention]- I see the notice on the site about line upgrades doesn’t mention anything about Octotel. Did I miss some comms around this, or still in the pipeline?
Separate notice to follow as this is a Web sQuad led initiative. Will send out a mail tomorrow.
 

Concentric

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 16, 2017
Messages
856
@websquadza
Why does Websquad route traffic to a local Seacom address such a long way?
Code:
Tracing route to 105.27.178.### over a maximum of 30 hops

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  10.0.10.1
  2     2 ms     1 ms     1 ms  core.as-02.jb1.za.ws.net.za [160.119.230.1]
  3     1 ms     1 ms     4 ms  core.cr-xe-01.jb1.za.ws.net.za [160.119.224.29]
  4    10 ms     9 ms     9 ms  core.pe-xe-ix01.db1.za.ws.net.za [160.119.232.66]
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6   205 ms   204 ms   204 ms  105.16.13.69
  7   209 ms   207 ms   207 ms  xe-0-1-0-3.cr-02-emg.za.seacomnet.com [105.16.10.241]
  8   207 ms   206 ms   207 ms  xe-0-0-0-3.cr-02-jnb.za.seacomnet.com [105.16.10.209]
  9   205 ms   206 ms   205 ms  ae-6.er-01-jnb.za.seacomnet.com [105.16.29.9]
 10   206 ms   206 ms   206 ms  xe-0-1.es-01-cbd.jnb.za.seacomnet.com [105.16.10.58]
 11   205 ms   205 ms   205 ms  xe-0-0-24.es-03-cbd.jnb.za.seacomnet.com [105.16.12.189]
 12   205 ms   205 ms   205 ms  105.27.178.###

Trace complete.
My latency to work is horrible.
Is there anything that can be done about this?
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
17,440
It is a seacom link
I see.
I assume that some ISPs still peer with them.
From a server hosted with hetzner ping is only 2ms.
Most ISPs peer with them through transit providers. Some big transit providers like IS and Telkom still has peering with them. So instead of peering directly with Seacom the ISPs hands over the traffic to transit providers then they peer with Seacom. It costs ISPs transit traffic to do that where before it was free at NAP Africa.
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
1,178
@websquadza
Why does Websquad route traffic to a local Seacom address such a long way?
Code:
Tracing route to 105.27.178.### over a maximum of 30 hops

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  10.0.10.1
  2     2 ms     1 ms     1 ms  core.as-02.jb1.za.ws.net.za [160.119.230.1]
  3     1 ms     1 ms     4 ms  core.cr-xe-01.jb1.za.ws.net.za [160.119.224.29]
  4    10 ms     9 ms     9 ms  core.pe-xe-ix01.db1.za.ws.net.za [160.119.232.66]
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6   205 ms   204 ms   204 ms  105.16.13.69
  7   209 ms   207 ms   207 ms  xe-0-1-0-3.cr-02-emg.za.seacomnet.com [105.16.10.241]
  8   207 ms   206 ms   207 ms  xe-0-0-0-3.cr-02-jnb.za.seacomnet.com [105.16.10.209]
  9   205 ms   206 ms   205 ms  ae-6.er-01-jnb.za.seacomnet.com [105.16.29.9]
10   206 ms   206 ms   206 ms  xe-0-1.es-01-cbd.jnb.za.seacomnet.com [105.16.10.58]
11   205 ms   205 ms   205 ms  xe-0-0-24.es-03-cbd.jnb.za.seacomnet.com [105.16.12.189]
12   205 ms   205 ms   205 ms  105.27.178.###

Trace complete.
My latency to work is horrible.
Is there anything that can be done about this?
This is all down to their de-peering ISPs last year.
It is a seacom link
I see.
I assume that some ISPs still peer with them.
From a server hosted with hetzner ping is only 2ms.
Morning. Yup, this is purely because of their peering policy and their de-peering local ISPs.

Hetzner is actually a client of Seacom's (indirectly, through Metrofibre). Hence the lower latency. And in any case, Seacom are all about the bottom line, and with the amount of content on Hetzner's network, it's in their financial interest to peer with Hetzner.

We have tried reaching out, because we do host some content for various providers. Waiting for some feedback.
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
1,178
Most ISPs peer with them through transit providers. Some big transit providers like IS and Telkom still has peering with them. So instead of peering directly with Seacom the ISPs hands over the traffic to transit providers then they peer with Seacom. It costs ISPs transit traffic to do that where before it was free at NAP Africa.
Not only the cost - the only option right now is that ISPs have to use Seacom IP transit to peer with Seacom. So we're kind of forced to pay them for a product we don't necessarily want/need from them.
 

websquadza

WebSquad
Joined
Mar 26, 2018
Messages
1,178
Confirmed with a coolideas user in same area also down.
Orchards/norwood vumatel airial
Nothing on the Vumatel Notices yet, usually takes a few mins. I'd say please submit a ticket to support so we can track it and escalate it in the meanwhile.
 
Top