My Latest Telkom Experience

Lycanthrope

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
13,279


What's wrong with that picture? I have a 4mbps line, I'm situated in Cape Town, and I have a ping of 1353ms, download speed of 764kb/s and upload speed of 75kb/s to Johannesburg.

I have just got off the phone with someone after saying, "I DO NOT HAVE A PROBLEM SYNCHRONISING, I DO NOT HAVE ANY DISCONNECTION PROBLEMS WHATSOEVER." This is in relation to my previous thread where I whined about my speed being half of what it should be and my latency double. The genius lowered my download speed on my line to 1024. ONE-ZERO-TWO-FOUR.

If I could shove this phone down his throat... Oh how I would relish that moment :mad:

Even after he said he was going to try lowering it to 3mbps, I said, "No, no, please don't. I don't have a problem with the synchronisation." Then he still goes and lowers it to 1024?!?!?!?!

I could seriously; grievously injure these people, I would.

I am not happy.

As for the image, that will hopefully be sorted since I finally have a reference number. But, right now, I just want my frikkin' line speed back >.>
 

krycor

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
15,100
Depends why he did it, you can synch perfectly well with the modem at the exchange and yet still be picking up a errors!
Did you perhaps try other ISP accounts tho, could be network issues, IS based maybe not working nicely or did they test with a saix account.
 

Lycanthrope

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
13,279
Depends why he did it, you can synch perfectly well with the modem at the exchange and yet still be picking up a errors!
Did you perhaps try other ISP accounts tho, could be network issues, IS based maybe not working nicely or did they test with a saix account.
Yes, krycor, I have an IS one and a SAIX one and they both give the same results.

As for errors - I have none, whatsoever - which is why I told him to leave it the hell alone.

My only problem was really, at the end of the day, my latency - which is worthless.
 
Last edited:

matrixweb

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
1,210
Looks Like They Still The Same , Support Sucks And They Cant Understand English As You Told Them Dont Drop It
 

Lycanthrope

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
13,279
Looks Like They Still The Same , Support Sucks And They Cant Understand English As You Told Them Dont Drop It
*nod* I'm learning patience in ways I never knew was possible.

"If you'd like to listen to promotional messages, please press 1. If you'd rather listen to music, press 2."

1 - Mind numbing.
2 - Where's the knife, kill me, please... just kill me...
 

krycor

Honorary Master
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
15,100
ooo its after 5pm, call volumes are likely gonna peak now :(
they still have that call me back when operator is ready service? *haven't done that for a few yrs so i dunno what the centre is like
 

Lycanthrope

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
13,279
can you do a tracert to see where the latency jumps.
Tracing route to myadsl.co.za [41.203.17.1]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms MyDslModem.local.lan [10.0.0.2]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 389 ms 416 ms 396 ms wblv-ip-lir-1-gig-4-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.43.8.190]
4 324 ms 237 ms 246 ms 196.43.25.206
5 339 ms 336 ms 474 ms ge0-3.br2.cpt1.alter.net [196.7.8.206]
6 481 ms 447 ms 532 ms fe8-1-0.gw1.jnb6.alter.net [196.30.1.21]
7 501 ms 493 ms 493 ms vlan9.hr3.jnb6.alter.net [196.30.156.136]
8 513 ms 511 ms 413 ms firewall2.jnb2.host-h.net [196.7.216.174]
9 371 ms 433 ms 412 ms 41.203.17.1

Trace complete.
And that's the one that worked -.-'
 

UnoPanelvan

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
1,702
And that's the one that worked -.-'
Goodness there is a problem with that line it seems? Get Telkom to test it, if you dare, they must send out a techie.

Tracing route to 41.203.17.1 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms ***.***.*.*
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 19 ms 18 ms 18 ms rrba-ip-lir-1-gig-0-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196
43.8.198]
4 18 ms 19 ms 18 ms 196.43.25.138
5 20 ms 19 ms 20 ms atm3-0sub1.br1.jnb6.alter.net [196.31.23.162]
6 20 ms 20 ms 20 ms pc1.gw1.jnb6.alter.net [196.30.1.21]
7 20 ms 20 ms 19 ms vlan9.hr3.jnb6.alter.net [196.30.156.136]
8 20 ms 19 ms 20 ms firewall2.jnb2.host-h.net [196.7.216.174]
9 20 ms 20 ms 20 ms 41.203.17.1

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\chris.CHRISTOFFEL>tracert 41.203.17.1

Tracing route to 41.203.17.1 over a maximum of 30 hops

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms ***.***.*.*
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 19 ms 19 ms 18 ms rrba-ip-lir-1-gig-0-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196
43.8.198]
4 19 ms 18 ms 18 ms 196.43.25.138
5 20 ms 19 ms 19 ms atm3-0sub1.br1.jnb6.alter.net [196.31.23.162]
6 20 ms 20 ms 20 ms pc1.gw1.jnb6.alter.net [196.30.1.21]
7 20 ms 19 ms 20 ms vlan9.hr3.jnb6.alter.net [196.30.156.136]
8 20 ms 20 ms 20 ms firewall2.jnb2.host-h.net [196.7.216.174]
9 20 ms 20 ms 21 ms 41.203.17.1

Trace complete.
 
Last edited:

Lycanthrope

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
13,279
Alright, finally got off the phone, the guy set it back up to where it was.


That's from Cape Town-to-Cape Town.
36ms, 2383kb/s down, 417kb/s up.


That's from Cape Town-to-Johannesburg.
104ms, 2555kb/s down, 411kb/s up.

It's back to how it was. The fault has been logged with Telkom so hopefully someone will come test the copper and verify that my port at the exchange is working correctly and all that nonsense. Hopefully everything will sort itself out eventually...

@UnoPanelvan - you read my mind :D

Here's mine now:

tracert myadsl.co.za

Tracing route to myadsl.co.za [41.203.17.1]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms MyDslModem.local.lan [10.0.0.2]
2 18 ms 23 ms 22 ms dsl-241-160-01.telkomadsl.co.za [41.241.160.1]
3 21 ms 22 ms 24 ms wblv-ip-lir-1-gig-4-0-0.telkom-ipnet.co.za [196.43.8.190]
4 24 ms 22 ms 22 ms 196.43.25.206
5 24 ms 22 ms 24 ms ge0-3.br2.cpt1.alter.net [196.7.8.206]
6 47 ms 45 ms 45 ms ge11-0-0.gw2.jnb6.alter.net [196.30.1.22]
7 45 ms 45 ms 47 ms vlan9.hr3.jnb6.alter.net [196.30.156.136]
8 45 ms 45 ms 46 ms firewall2.jnb2.host-h.net [196.7.216.174]
9 46 ms 45 ms 46 ms 41.203.17.1

Trace complete.
Definite improvement.

*mumbles* I'm still angry at that guy for lowering my line down to 1024, but at least the guy I spoke to now was kind enough to fix that.
 

Lycanthrope

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
13,279
Woohoo!!! Telkom techie dude came today. Tested the line and said that the line quality is great and that it SHOULD be working correctly and all that, but that he can see something is obviously wrong.

He also said that unfortunately, to his knowledge, Telkom still claims, "it does not guarantee 4mbps" so he's going to do all he can to find out what's wrong and get back to me, Friday, at the latest. He also said the DSLAM doesn't seem to be having any trouble, and I should have great access since I'm only about 800m away from it.

He said he's going to contact, "the experts" and have them take a look at it all properly and diagnose the problem.

So... only time will tell what to expect. At least he said, "If I can't get this fault sorted, it becomes my problem." I have absolutely no idea what that means, but it means a lot that he'll see it through to the end... Or at least, that he'll try to...

*happy*
 
Top