New Webafrica Network Migration

Hypnza

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
27
Ran for 1m30s:

Code:
 wget -O /dev/null http://212.183.159.230/1GB.zip
--2019-07-04 10:06:29--  http://212.183.159.230/1GB.zip
Connecting to 212.183.159.230:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 1073741824 (1.0G) [application/zip]
Saving to: ‘/dev/null’

/dev/null             0%[                    ]   2.40M  20.4KB/s    eta 10h 45m

20.4KB/s :facepalm:

And Afrihost (after 20 seconds) :

Code:
wget -O /dev/null http://212.183.159.230/1GB.zip
--2019-07-04 10:26:40--  http://212.183.159.230/1GB.zip
Connecting to 212.183.159.230:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 1073741824 (1.0G) [application/zip]
Saving to: ‘/dev/null’

/dev/null             9%[>                   ] 101.77M  11.0MB/s    eta 3m 3s
I've also attached traceroutes, both WebAfrica and Afrihost use the same "international" paths (via liquidtelecom) to the IP...
 

Attachments

Last edited:

wingnut771

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
9,697
Ran for 1m30s:

Code:
 wget -O /dev/null http://212.183.159.230/1GB.zip
--2019-07-04 10:06:29--  http://212.183.159.230/1GB.zip
Connecting to 212.183.159.230:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 1073741824 (1.0G) [application/zip]
Saving to: ‘/dev/null’

/dev/null             0%[                    ]   2.40M  20.4KB/s    eta 10h 45m

20.4KB/s :facepalm:

And Afrihost (after 20 seconds) :

Code:
wget -O /dev/null http://212.183.159.230/1GB.zip
--2019-07-04 10:26:40--  http://212.183.159.230/1GB.zip
Connecting to 212.183.159.230:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 1073741824 (1.0G) [application/zip]
Saving to: ‘/dev/null’

/dev/null             9%[>                   ] 101.77M  11.0MB/s    eta 3m 3s
I've also attached traceroutes, both WebAfrica and Afrihost use the same "international" paths (via liquidtelecom) to the IP...
logic dictates then that the problem is one hop before int.
 

Sylvesta

Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2009
Messages
24
So after multiple calls by line still does not have an internet connection.

Support phoned, did troubleshooting, said all looks fine, would add my account to some batch that would migrate me again or something and still waiting. Call was made on Tuesday and nothing yet. Ticket has been open since 28 June
 

WebAfrica Helper

Web Africa representative
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
2,103
So after multiple calls by line still does not have an internet connection.

Support phoned, did troubleshooting, said all looks fine, would add my account to some batch that would migrate me again or something and still waiting. Call was made on Tuesday and nothing yet. Ticket has been open since 28 June
Hi @Sylvesta

We have updated the teams with this feedback - Techs on standby for your ticket ref# via DM
 

Tharaxis

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2003
Messages
538
Will confirm that Twitch streaming, Netflix, iTunes, etc. are again absolutely awful. It was literally working well for about an hour yesterday. Can we get some actually useful indication on what is happening here and what is being done about it, or is it just that WA has no idea where the problem lies at all, in which case that's extremely concerning.
 

Honeycomb

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2019
Messages
5
My service is through Openserve fibre. Ever since the migration (last Thursday), streaming quality has been appalling - except for last night (Wednesday), when things looked the way they used to. I thought the problem was fixed but today it is as bad as ever.

I have been watching WebAfrica Helper's responses over the last few days. It seems that only those users who are tech savvy enough to do comparative traceroutes and the like get a response from WebAfrica. Then it's jumping around and asking for account details and get the team on it! But the rest of us seemingly are ignored. Surely the problem isn't specific to some users. Surely there's a general problem or problems somewhere that need to be sorted out so that we ALL get the service that we're paying for.

I echo Tharaxis in asking WebAfrica to tell us clearly what the problems are, and what they're doing about it. And when.
 

Tharaxis

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2003
Messages
538
It has been 6 days now since my migration, since that point my Internet experience has been a fraction of what it was before. I pay 3.5 grand to you guys a month, I think I deserve a response as to why I am unable to get the speeds I used to. In that time, there has been ZERO response from WA, ZERO confirmation that there's actually an issue, ZERO indication of what the issue is if there *has* been one identified, and ZERO indication as to when this is expected to be resolved.

If this is what my money buys for you guys then you no longer deserve it, and I would say that you don't deserve it from any from the remainder of your customers either.

Give us an answer, give us an indication of the problem, and give us a resolution time, and FIX THE PROBLEM.
 

Tharaxis

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2003
Messages
538
As an FYI, as we speak I have to Twitch stream at 160p and it STILL BUFFERS occasionally. That is LITERALLY 200Kbits/s of bandwidth required. This is on 200mbit Fibre btw. I'm sorry, that is utterly unacceptable.
 

wingnut771

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
9,697
As an FYI, as we speak I have to Twitch stream at 160p and it STILL BUFFERS occasionally. That is LITERALLY 200Kbits/s of bandwidth required. This is on 200mbit Fibre btw. I'm sorry, that is utterly unacceptable.
which network?
 

Pure_Acid

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
646
I am experiencing the same, I am streaming twitch on the new fancy WebAfrica (Frogfoot) network at 360p with extreme buffering. Where is my money going for my 200mb fibre connection?

Before the move all was good for well over a year............
 
Last edited:

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
18,138
Not sure what area you guys are in but my 200/100Mbps Openserve line with a 100GB capped adsl account if flying on the new network. It's flawless. Twitch is flawless for me stream perfect. In game latency is stable and very low especially with League of Legends to EUW 178ms stable.

 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
18,138
Ran for 1m30s:

Code:
 wget -O /dev/null http://212.183.159.230/1GB.zip
--2019-07-04 10:06:29--  http://212.183.159.230/1GB.zip
Connecting to 212.183.159.230:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 1073741824 (1.0G) [application/zip]
Saving to: ‘/dev/null’

/dev/null             0%[                    ]   2.40M  20.4KB/s    eta 10h 45m

20.4KB/s :facepalm:

And Afrihost (after 20 seconds) :

Code:
wget -O /dev/null http://212.183.159.230/1GB.zip
--2019-07-04 10:26:40--  http://212.183.159.230/1GB.zip
Connecting to 212.183.159.230:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 1073741824 (1.0G) [application/zip]
Saving to: ‘/dev/null’

/dev/null             9%[>                   ] 101.77M  11.0MB/s    eta 3m 3s
I've also attached traceroutes, both WebAfrica and Afrihost use the same "international" paths (via liquidtelecom) to the IP...
Maybe you can try a capped adsl account with webafrica and see how it compares? For me because I do not have a fibre line with webafrica I just bought a 100GB capped adsl account to test how the new network is working and it's really working well. Full speeds on everything. My ip hostname does have adsl in like ip-adsl.web.africa where the ftth account has ip-ftth.web.africa

Not sure if that actually makes a difference but worth a try I guess.
 

Hypnza

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
27
Maybe you can try a capped adsl account with webafrica and see how it compares?
I considered that but I can't figure out how... on https://www.webafrica.co.za/adsl/ the DSL section only gives me a "Check Availability" button which jumps to the top of the page. Clicking that (and entering my address) only lists Fiber and LTE options I can actually pick to order.

I was on a "DSL" account for ages until I had some quirks. Support staff told me it was impossible for me to have cancelled my fiber data but not my fiber line, or to use a DSL package on my fiber line - lol, wrong, had been working like that for months.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
18,138
I considered that but I can't figure out how... on https://www.webafrica.co.za/adsl/ the DSL section only gives me a "Check Availability" button which jumps to the top of the page. Clicking that (and entering my address) only lists Fiber and LTE options I can actually pick to order.

I was on a "DSL" account for ages until I had some quirks. Support staff told me it was impossible for me to have cancelled my fiber data but not my fiber line, or to use a DSL package on my fiber line - lol, wrong, had been working like that for months.
Yeah they don't offer you adsl if you have fibre coverage. So I just entered an address that does not have fibre coverage and then selected 1Mbps line with 100GB data. Select I already have an internet line as to get the data only and login with existing account to just add the new data account. You instantly get the username and password.
 

maniac6911

Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2014
Messages
29
Maybe you can try a capped adsl account with webafrica and see how it compares? For me because I do not have a fibre line with webafrica I just bought a 100GB capped adsl account to test how the new network is working and it's really working well. Full speeds on everything. My ip hostname does have adsl in like ip-adsl.web.africa where the ftth account has ip-ftth.web.africa

Not sure if that actually makes a difference but worth a try I guess.
I have a 400GB capped account with WA on Openserve fibre and it is the same as the others are reporting, twitch buffering at 160p. It works at 1080p for like an hour or so from time to time, but then becomes unusable again. And it isn't just twitch other streaming services are poor.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
18,138
I have a 400GB capped account with WA on Openserve fibre and it is the same as the others are reporting, twitch buffering at 160p. It works at 1080p for like an hour or so from time to time, but then becomes unusable again. And it isn't just twitch other streaming services are poor.
I'm not seeing issues. I'm using a 100GB account since 3 days ago because Supersonic is atrocious during peak time and since yesterday Webafrica has been stable. Streaming 1080p emby streams via cloudflare is good. Watching teamfight tactics on twitch in 1080p is perfect.
 

wingnut771

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
9,697
Not sure what area you guys are in but my 200/100Mbps Openserve line with a 100GB capped adsl account if flying on the new network. It's flawless. Twitch is flawless for me stream perfect. In game latency is stable and very low especially with League of Legends to EUW 178ms stable.

single thread please
 
Top