nicklear

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
102
Router is already set to max in wifi settings. I tried downloading the app now and remove interference was greyed out, preumably it isn't seeing any.

I wonder if it's a case of the router being very new tech and my PCI wifi card being older tech and they not talking very well to each other? I have the https://www.d-link.co.za/for-home/dwa-582 which is AC (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_802.11#802.11ac) so it's not super old.

Does sound in general that most people get on well with that router.
 

VettieOriginal

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2019
Messages
322
Router is already set to max in wifi settings. I tried downloading the app now and remove interference was greyed out, preumably it isn't seeing any.

I wonder if it's a case of the router being very new tech and my PCI wifi card being older tech and they not talking very well to each other? I have the https://www.d-link.co.za/for-home/dwa-582 which is AC (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_802.11#802.11ac) so it's not super old.

Does sound in general that most people get on well with that router.
That is very weird, when you view the channel that your are currently using, is that the best signal? You will see bars from left to right indicating the best channel

Is these any thing like UPS ect that can affect you signal?
 

nicklear

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
102
Have tested both bands. 2.4GHz works a lot better.

And channel looks good according to Wifi Analyzer & the Huawei app. No UPS.

Not sure why it's happening. But I know from often keeping an eye on Task manager that it was better before so it will be easier to switch back.
 

VettieOriginal

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2019
Messages
322
Are you using the 2.4GHz Wi-Fi or the 5GHz band?
I use both

PS4 and Apple TV Run on 5gGHZ and i get about 60% of line speed (they are a distance away from router)

2.4GHZ i get about between 40-60% of line speed all depends on how many devices are intefering ect, with the Tenda i got a lot less
 

VettieOriginal

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2019
Messages
322
Have tested both bands. 2.4GHz works a lot better.

And channel looks good according to Wifi Analyzer & the Huawei app. No UPS.

Not sure why it's happening. But I know from often keeping an eye on Task manager that it was better before so it will be easier to switch back.
For sure if it works it works XD
 

nicklear

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2014
Messages
102
Ideally I'd love to try a different wifi card - I have been seeing some problems lately with my computer - USB power not being enough, things like that, not sure if it's the motherboard or the PSU.

But yeah, Tenda seemed to suit me better for whatever reason, though it's good to know a lot of people are getting on well with the Huawei. When I was on 4G before, my B618 was awesome
 

Diesel44

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2008
Messages
190
Have tested both bands. 2.4GHz works a lot better.

And channel looks good according to Wifi Analyzer & the Huawei app. No UPS.

Not sure why it's happening. But I know from often keeping an eye on Task manager that it was better before so it will be easier to switch back.

Router software maybe? Did you update the software to the latest version?
 

Vegeta ZA

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2008
Messages
113
For the past two or so weeks I've been getting higher pings (from 5ms up to 45-75ms) between 7pm to 10pm every night.

Has anybody else been having this issue? Running on the Vodacom network.
 

Ipwn 4

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2010
Messages
1,817
Bought a house that already had Home Connect, line is paid for till then end of the month and I am trying to move it to my name and bump the speed.

Thus far they have been absolutely useless, empty promises and phones going unanswered.
 

Meister-Man

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
703
My lockdown bonus of 10 mbps, on top of my 10 mbps line is now gone. However I'm getting a solid 11.5 mbps.
 

xcaliber

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2013
Messages
1,367
****. Service is down and trying to get a hold of them for the past hour;

****ing useless ISP
 

Shpongle

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2010
Messages
208
Is anyone with Home connect in CPT Southern suburbs? Been slow as hell for the last two days, getting 2 megs down on a 100 meg line!
 

Retro1337

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2020
Messages
400
Is anyone with Home connect in CPT Southern suburbs? Been slow as hell for the last two days, getting 2 megs down on a 100 meg line!
HC apparently having issues with Frogfoot. But nothing seems to be happening. All they been saying for past 2 days is "Repair work is under way and will be resolved soon"
 
Last edited:

$m@Rt@$$

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Messages
1,908
Is anyone with Home connect in CPT Southern suburbs? Been slow as hell for the last two days, getting 2 megs down on a 100 meg line!
Yeah, issues in Cape Town. The whole garden route is dog slow all the way up to Port Elizabeth. Check the notifications page.
 

Chris.Geerdts

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
2,083
Yes, I've been battling as well. I tried live chat and they didn't want to respond to my query until I had downloaded their diagnostic app. When I try to download it I get a 'not available in your country' error from Google Play.

I asked Live Chat if there were any known issues and they can't say (it's just a messaging service)

Status page on Home Connect just spins

That is Home Connect on Frogfoot
 

Retro1337

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2020
Messages
400
Frogfoot have identified the issue and will be replacing the effected hardware in the morning - Home Connect System
 
Top