New Webafrica Network Migration

wingnut771

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
5,938
Ohh no don't want that. I filled the Macrolan forms already. Paid Supersonic the money so the line is mine. Just the migration that is going to be a headache
macrolan has been very solid for me on vuma trenched :thumbsup:
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
14,337
macrolan has been very solid for me on vuma trenched :thumbsup:
I see Macrolan changed their website to Seacom now.

Yeah I'm hoping for some good performance because not a lot of people will be on Macrolan and Openserve because they don't have it on their website they don't advertise it they are not even listed on the Openserve website but they responded very quickly via email with an application form for me to fill in and they are offering very very competitive prices so I'm hoping the IPC won't get congested as quick as Supersonic because they aren't as popular.

Really keen to test them out. If all the traffic routes to CPT like yours then I might need to reconsider but will cross that bridge when I get there.
 

wingnut771

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
5,938
I see Macrolan changed their website to Seacom now.

Yeah I'm hoping for some good performance because not a lot of people will be on Macrolan and Openserve because they don't have it on their website they don't advertise it they are not even listed on the Openserve website but they responded very quickly via email with an application form for me to fill in and they are offering very very competitive prices so I'm hoping the IPC won't get congested as quick as Supersonic because they aren't as popular.

Really keen to test them out. If all the traffic routes to CPT like yours then I might need to reconsider but will cross that bridge when I get there.
then i suggest you start following fight club rules.
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
14,337
The more I use Webafrica the more I want to switch to them.

180ms in League of Legends stable. A 40min game the latency does not even move a single bit it just stays on 180ms and it's lower and more stable than Supersonic
 

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
8,688
The more I use Webafrica the more I want to switch to them.

180ms in League of Legends stable. A 40min game the latency does not even move a single bit it just stays on 180ms and it's lower and more stable than Supersonic
Its solid for me too.
The only downside, they still need to fix routing for Blizzard games to Cape Town. Instead of 140ms I currently see 180ms. Its not too bad, but at least its stable.

I do however think, there are issues for some people on Openserve network.
 

wingnut771

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
5,938
Its solid for me too.
The only downside, they still need to fix routing for Blizzard games to Cape Town. Instead of 140ms I currently see 180ms. Its not too bad, but at least its stable.

I do however think, there are issues for some people on Openserve network.
wasn't that the WHOLE reason they switched networks in the first place?
 

Tharaxis

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2003
Messages
526
I had *very* few issues with network performance prior to the move, and I'm in Cape Town and on OpenServe 200mbit fibre. After the move it's been almost consistently bad with the occasional good moment. Last night after midnight my Netflix streams were going great, solid and crisp. For what I'm paying though I shouldn't have to wait until past midnight to be able to watch the stuff I want to watch at the quality I want to watch it at.
 

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
8,688
I had *very* few issues with network performance prior to the move, and I'm in Cape Town and on OpenServe 200mbit fibre. After the move it's been almost consistently bad with the occasional good moment. Last night after midnight my Netflix streams were going great, solid and crisp. For what I'm paying though I shouldn't have to wait until past midnight to be able to watch the stuff I want to watch at the quality I want to watch it at.
What is your speedtest result on https://fast.com ? (Netflix speedtest)

Also you using ZA or US Netflix?

And a traceroute to JHB POP?
Example:
Code:
~ % mtr 45.57.4.136 --report-wide --aslookup --show-ips
Start: 2019-07-07T13:37:02+0200
HOST: outlawstar                                                       Loss%   Snt   Last   Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
  1. AS???    router.lan (192.168.241.1)                                0.0%    10    0.4   0.4   0.4   0.4   0.0
  2. AS328453 102-65-57-1.ftth.web.africa (102.65.57.1)                 0.0%    10    2.5   2.8   2.3   4.1   0.7
  3. AS3741   197.97.90.130                                             0.0%    10    4.8   3.3   2.4   5.5   1.2
  4. AS327693 160.119.142.33                                            0.0%    10    1.1   1.2   1.1   1.2   0.0
  5. AS???    100.67.57.8                                               0.0%    10    1.6   4.1   1.3  18.9   5.6
  6. AS327693 102.67.178.3                                              0.0%    10    1.1   1.2   1.1   1.3   0.0
  7. AS327693 terjhb-igw1-vlan1424.net.echosp.link (102.67.176.16)      0.0%    10   20.5  20.5  20.4  20.5   0.0
  8. AS???    netflix.ixp.joburg (196.60.8.80)                          0.0%    10   21.2  21.3  21.2  21.4   0.1
  9. AS2906   ipv4_1.lagg0.c013.jnb001.ix.nflxvideo.net (45.57.4.136)   0.0%    10   20.0  20.2  19.9  21.2   0.4
netflix-speedtest.png
 

Joker

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2004
Messages
1,615
Anyone else getting connection drops? I've had 3 today on Openserve, Cape Town Southern Suburbs
 

Pure_Acid

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
630
Ticket logged again. This is terrible. (Ticket (ID: 666945) ) ---- 200MB Fibre

Everything is buffering.

 

Tharaxis

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2003
Messages
526
Today seems to have been pretty good... could it be that maybe we're finally over the problem? Still no indication from WA what was wrong though.
 

WebAfrica Helper

Web Africa representative
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
2,078
Ticket logged again. This is terrible. (Ticket (ID: 666945) ) ---- 200MB Fibre

Everything is buffering.

Thank you @Pure_Acid

This ticket reference has been assigned to a senior tech and network squad to further investigate and respond with a path of resolve

Thanks again for your ticket ref#
 

Joker

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2004
Messages
1,615
There has been an improvement over the last day or so, was able to stream with no problems last night. Hope something was changed or upgraded and this is the new norm
 

RazorCPT

Active Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
87
Hey Guys, looking to switch ISPs and considering Web Africa. Seems like the issues are all related to CPT region which would not affect me (in JHB). Is this correct? Specifically interested in international traffic to London and Germany. Would appreciate any comments/experiences for JHB based folk. Thanks!
 

wingnut771

Executive Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
5,938
Hey Guys, looking to switch ISPs and considering Web Africa. Seems like the issues are all related to CPT region which would not affect me (in JHB). Is this correct? Specifically interested in international traffic to London and Germany. Would appreciate any comments/experiences for JHB based folk. Thanks!
do you really want to support a company that is silent on the current issues?
 

Flamer283

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2014
Messages
237
Hey Guys, looking to switch ISPs and considering Web Africa. Seems like the issues are all related to CPT region which would not affect me (in JHB). Is this correct? Specifically interested in international traffic to London and Germany. Would appreciate any comments/experiences for JHB based folk. Thanks!
I have had no problem international traffic is perfect, always reaches my max line speed
 

Pure_Acid

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
630
@Forum, @WebAfrica Helper

Update on my ticket (666945)

So as you can see on below speedtest my line is still in the same condition, Barely 5MB on 200MB line.

So far I have been asked to do a PPPoE connection test directly from my pc to the Fibre box, eliminating my router as a problem. Well as you can see in my speedtest the problem still persists, I gave feedback and was handed to a new support person. Bare in mind at this point my entire history is this ticket were I explain that right before I moved over to the new network my speedtests were hitting 180MB+ on multi connection tests.

My first response from the new support person is that they would like to replace my router, when asked why the reason given was that my router supplied by WebAfrica might not be able to handle the 200MB connection or that my devices might be the limiting factor in my speed IE laptop network card....

Well I am proud to say I kept my composure and assured the support person that I have multiple routers that can handle well over 100MB connections and that I do not want another router or need one, and my laptop far exceeds what WebAfrica could even try and supply me when it comes to speed. So this where I am now :(

 
Last edited:
Top